Chunky Cheese Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
Wow! This is super nummy!! I recalculated for 12 servings, and made exactly as indicated. The only change I made is using a pinch of celery seed instead of chopped celery as I was out. I was looking for super simple so the other change I made was to put the water and vegies in a crock pot on low from approximately 9a-4p. I had my daugher turn the crock off at 4 when she got home from school (could have left it on low for the extra hour until I got home as the vegies were a little crunchy, so just depends on how you like your vegies...a little more crisp or a little softer). When I got home, threw in the ham and finished the rest of the recipe. Then turned the crock on high for about 45 minutes while I ran and got my other daughter from after school activities! Super Easy and this is one of the best tasting soups I have ever eaten! We will definitely be making again and again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tonja Grothe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by netglitch
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2009
mmMMmmm cheddar goodness. I didn't have any ham around so I used shrimp instead, turned out great! Will try ham next time, and there will be a next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by netglitch
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2009
this is really really good as is...no need to add a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ferrellcat

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
Fabulous! This is a new family favorite, thanks for sharing this great recipe! Great way to use leftover ham, you probably could use any kind of meat. I doubled the recipe and added a can of corn (drained). I also cooked the vegetables with a couple chicken boullion cubes for extra flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MISSCONNIEGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greenville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
This recipe is fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelly Van Kirk Moran

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Logan, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Bellbrook, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
Made this on Nov. 12, very easy. Use 1 tsp. salt. JJ loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2008
This recipe manages to be both very, very good and quite easy. It's quick enough to be a weekday night dinner, and excellently flexible. I made mine with potatoes, onion, split peas and ham (what I happened to have on hand) and it was great. I'm also pregnant and home alone with my 3 year old for the next few weeks, and I was able to cook it in between comforting a starving toddler. This is going into my personal database of recipes. Well done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2007
This was a wonderful recipe. It was very easy to make and very tasty. I made it for a staff appreciation luncheon at school and everyone seemed to like it. This will be one that I will make again very soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2007
This is one of the best soups I have made. This is delicious. I've made it without the ham, and used different veggies, you can't go wrong with this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2007
This was incredible soup!!! Creamy and very tasty. My husband couldn't eat enough! The only change I made to this recipe was that I added some chopped fresh chives right before serving since I had some in the fridge. They added a nice flavor. Otherwise, the recipe is perfect as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mays Landing, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cauliflower Soup with Blue Cheese Fritters

Earthy, comforting cauliflower soup is topped with light, cheesy fritters.

Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make quick-and-easy cheese soup with broccoli.

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States