Chunky Cheese Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
The only rerason I'm giving it 4 stars is because I have added some processed cheese as some reviewers suggested, trust me, it does give that extra creamy texture that this soup needs. Regardless - it was a hit, and I will definetly make it again. IMO best cheese soop on this site. Straight to my recipe box. Oh, and btw, don't overdo the ham, putting in too much will interfere with the rest of the flavours in this delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZatriX

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
This was absolutely delicious. My husband and I both loved it. I had no celery in the house so I added broccoli instead and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
This is a crew-pleasing way to use up post holiday ham with minimal effort. As with most cheese based soups, I added some cayenne for a warming effect. Topped the soup with green onions and (more!) cheese and this was gone in a flash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicolette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
We had this soup for lunch. We didn't have ham, so we put in pork stew meat chopped up. It was very good. I had a hard time limiting my helpings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
This is my favorite soup of all time. The only change I made to the recipe is that I used chicken broth in place of the water to add more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2010
My entier family loved this soup. althouth, insted of ham I put bacon bites, and I also put extra chesse. every thing else was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by doedoe

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
Yummy!! Basic ingredients and easy to make. If you like cream/cheese soups then this is a must. The ONLY change I made was 1/2 velveeta and 1/2 cheddar. Thanks for the great soup recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HHALLOWS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
This is wonderful! Didn't have milk so used half and half and it was very rich. Excellent and thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Keller, Texas, USA
Living In: Saginaw, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
We call this "scalloped potato soup" because it tastes so much like Grandma's scalloped potatoes! It's truly delish! I decreased the salt to just 1/2 tsp for personal preference. Instead of stirring in the cheese, I just topped each bowl w/shredded cheddar. Comfort soup, for sure!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
This was a good way to use left over ham. My situation was similar to the previous poster, I needed to make 12 servings and I did not have celery. So, I substituted the salt for celery salt but only added two teaspoons (for 12 servings 2.5 tsp was indicated) of this. The ham I used was leftover shank I had in the freezer - no bone, I used that for ham and bean soup, and I did add a bit more than the recipe states. I also added a little more water than called for because I wanted to simmer it longer. I also had to substitute some of the cheddar cheese for american and mozzerella. All in all very good, and simple to do in a pinch. Note: my soup looked more orange and 'cheesy' than in the picture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oak Harbor, Ohio, USA
Living In: Gibsonburg, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cauliflower Soup with Blue Cheese Fritters

Earthy, comforting cauliflower soup is topped with light, cheesy fritters.

Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make quick-and-easy cheese soup with broccoli.

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States