Chunky Banana Nut Chip Ice Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2001
TIP: You must freeze ice cream for at least two to three hours after you make it in your ice cream maker if you want it to be like the consistency of ice cream you get from the grocery store, this is called tempering. When it comes directly from the ice cream maker it is very much like soft serve ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephany Ogle Brown

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Mesquite, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2004
This was fantastic...much like the famous brand. I reduced the sugar by half and used very ripe bananas, and it was plenty sweet with a very intense banana flavor. I also used a frozen bittersweet Lindt chocolate bar instead of the chips and added a hint a cinnamon to add a homemade touch. One trick to making ice cream work in an ice cream maker is to make sure both the canister and the paddle are very, very frozen. I usually freeze at least 2 days ahead of time and remove canister from freezer just before mixture is ready to pour into canister.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2003
DELICIOUS. The one change I made was to use regular cream instead of the heavy kind so it wouldn't leave such a taste of butter fat in the mouth. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2001
I am diabetic and used equal sweetner to cut the sugar out. My grandkids loved this ice cream when we made it last weekend. It was very easy and delicious. They want to make more next weekend. It was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2003
This ice cream is almost better than the famous brand's. It doesn't seem like overripe bananas are required for this recipe; I also prefer adding regular-sized chocolate chip, or even chocolate chunks, than miniature chocolate chips. Will be made often at home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IVANDIEPART

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brussels, Brussels, Belgium

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2003
this is really good.. i was a little doubtful of "banana" ice-cream.... but it was quite delicious!! make sure you use overripe bananas for the best banana taste. i used my cuisinart ice-cream maker to make this.. and it was overflowing so i would make it in two batches like the other reviewer said, or just halve the recipe. the ice-cream was tasty and very easy to make compared to the other ice-cream recipes i've used so far. try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2003
This ice cream was delicious, and tasted almost better than Ben and Jerry's Chunky Monkey! (Super easy as well!) For my half-gallon maker, I used 5 bananas and doubled the rest of the ingredients. It turned out great, and wasn't runny at all! I would say that it turned out a little like the consistency of cool whip, and twice as good! Thanks for sharing! ^_^
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2001
Ben and Jerry's Chunky Monkey has been my favorite forever. I tried this, and it was so good! The banana flavor is so intense! Plus its healthier because the Ben and Jerry brand has so much fat in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2001
Fabulous! I used fat free sweetened condensed milk instead of cream and half the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2004
We all thought this was great banana ice cream. I used Nestle choc. chunks and stirred in nuts and chocolate after churning stopped. Then froze for a few hours. I doubled the recipe for six and had some left over. Served with white cake. Deee licious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Paleo Tropical Ice Cream

A fruity, dairy-free frozen treat with coconut milk instead of cream.

Green Tea Mochi Ice Cream

See how to make green tea mochi-wrapped vanilla ice cream.

Chef John’s Strawberry Ice Cream

Just in time for summer! See how to make quick, simple strawberry ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States