Chunky Bacon and Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2007
this recipe definately has potential but it needed some fine tuning. i made the soup exactly to the recipe and found it to be missing something so i took the advice of another review and added country gravy mix...helped in the flavor department. i still felt like it was missing something so i added some condensed cheese soup...oh my...what goes better with potatos and bacon than cheese. my family loved it so much that they want me to make more for the football game on sunday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Monaca, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2007
I am giving this 4 stars only because I added a few things to make this more flavorful, but after that it was most definitely a 5. I estimated on the milk and chicken broth (I buy the kind in the carton) and it turned out a little to thin, probably my fault. To thicken and add more flavor I added some crushed red pepper flakes, for some spice, seasoned salt, garlic powder, double the bacon, one pkg. country style gravy mix, and a few slices of provolone cheese. The gravy mix made it great and I would imagine any cheese you had on hand would work. After the changes my husband and I both thought it was the best potato soup/chowder that I have made, and that says a lot b/c I have tried many different kinds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vilseck, Bayern, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
Wow! This was incredibly tasty! Think the good quality stock makes all the difference here. I just used ordinary peeled potatoes and smoked bacon for this recipe, and it was fantastic. Will definatly make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nyabing, Western Australia, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2005
Better than mom's and that is hard to come by.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2008
I suggest using a high quality extra lean bacon because anything other than that will cause the recipe to be too greasy. Other than that, this recipe was good. I would make it again, (with better bacon of course!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Le12ahw

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boyertown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Havre De Grace, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2011
As with all chowder-like dishes, bacon is best when it is very crunchy. To make it easy, I used onion in place of the leek. I also used my own potatoes and cut them into small cubes. Worked great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Laramie, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2006
easy and good what more could you want.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Altoona, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Hollidaysburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2011
it was amazing i make it every week for dinner and i also bring it for my lunch at work every day!!!!! i just dont get tird of it!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Hot Springs, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2009
Yuummmmy! I didn't have chicken broth on hand so I used 1 can of cream of chicken, and one can of cream of mushroom. I added some cooked potatoes and bacon with some cheddar cheese on top. Quick and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle L.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mentor, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: May 16, 2007
Absolutely delicious soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato Leek Soup III

See how to make a comforting, creamy potato and leek soup.

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Baked Potato Soup I

This soup combines potatoes with bacon, cheese, and the works.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States