Chunky Bacon and Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
This was a great soup. Plenty of room to try different things in it. I used regular potatoes and added the gravy mix at the end. Adding the entire package of gravy gave it too much of a gravy taste for me, but still a wonderful soup. Next time I will try w/o gravy mix and heavy cream instead of milk. I do believe that cheese would have made this even better, but I ready try it again. I really enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Bellmead, Texas, USA
Living In: Ramstein, Rheinland-Pfalz, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2008
I didn't mind this soup but my husband said it really was no better than a canned soup. It was super easy and quick and that is great but I probably won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2008
Very good recipe. I would definitely drain most of the bacon grease as recommended in other reviews. I used onions instead of leaks, added celery, cream of celery soup, and doubled the bacon. It turned out really good; my kids and husband (he's the soup connoisseur) LOVED it! :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2008
I suggest using a high quality extra lean bacon because anything other than that will cause the recipe to be too greasy. Other than that, this recipe was good. I would make it again, (with better bacon of course!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Le12ahw

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boyertown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Havre De Grace, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
Wow! This was incredibly tasty! Think the good quality stock makes all the difference here. I just used ordinary peeled potatoes and smoked bacon for this recipe, and it was fantastic. Will definatly make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nyabing, Western Australia, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2007
this recipe definately has potential but it needed some fine tuning. i made the soup exactly to the recipe and found it to be missing something so i took the advice of another review and added country gravy mix...helped in the flavor department. i still felt like it was missing something so i added some condensed cheese soup...oh my...what goes better with potatos and bacon than cheese. my family loved it so much that they want me to make more for the football game on sunday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Monaca, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2007
im sorry i did not care for this recipe much. lot of other soups out there much better. it was edible, but that was about it. sorry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by floridascrubtech

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: May 16, 2007
Absolutely delicious soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2007
I am giving this 4 stars only because I added a few things to make this more flavorful, but after that it was most definitely a 5. I estimated on the milk and chicken broth (I buy the kind in the carton) and it turned out a little to thin, probably my fault. To thicken and add more flavor I added some crushed red pepper flakes, for some spice, seasoned salt, garlic powder, double the bacon, one pkg. country style gravy mix, and a few slices of provolone cheese. The gravy mix made it great and I would imagine any cheese you had on hand would work. After the changes my husband and I both thought it was the best potato soup/chowder that I have made, and that says a lot b/c I have tried many different kinds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vilseck, Bayern, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2006
Very tasty but a tad greasy for my taste. Next time I will omit the bacon drippings and just sprinkle the top w/ bacon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUZHARDIN

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato Leek Soup III

See how to make a comforting, creamy potato and leek soup.

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Baked Potato Soup I

This soup combines potatoes with bacon, cheese, and the works.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States