Chungles Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
We enjoyed this very much. I didn't think there would be enough moisture in the dish but there was. The smoked mozzarella was delicious but very pricey and regular would work in this dish too. It is a nice change from the usual pasta and I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin'gal

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
Fantastic! We used black olives instead of kalamata because they were way cheaper. And pretty much had enough ingredients to double the recipe. I used a chopper to nicely chop the olives. After combining all the ingredients in the pan I let it simmer for a good 15 or so minutes continually stirring. This allowed for everything to melt together. The big pieces of mushrooms and tomatoes came together nicely in the end with a beautiful uniform thick sauce! Topped with smoked gouda because I couldn't find smoked mozz. This is a great recipe to try! Beautiful and different! I think the smoked cheese is a must :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bernadette Marlene

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
The only problem was the pasta-to-sauce ratio. Make less pasta for the amount of sauce this recipe produces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2008
Wow! This pasta packs a punch. I have made this dish several times and keep coming back for more. It is also great on rice, on a cut of meat, or as a topping for crusty bread. Fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2005
I liked using pepperoni & the kalamata olives but this really needed a sauce of some kind. used white wine but that didn't help. Also used spaghetti noodles which I would not recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2005
What confused me and my husband was that there was no real sauce in which to simmer all the goodies that went into this 'sauce'! So we decided to add some white wine (to get the juices out of the tomatoes) and then it all took off! It was great! I decided to be adventurous with the cheeses and added a mix of primasalata (a harder version of a somewhat salty ricotta), mahon (a spanish cow's milk cheese), and some drunken goat cheese...well, I bet it would be great with any kind of mix of random cheese you have somewhere in your fridge! Other changes: I added more mushrooms ('cause I had extra), cut the capers in half, and rinsed the kalamata... and it still didn't need extra salt! My husband is Calabrian and he thinks it's own of the better pasta dishes he's ever had! Wierd, but... there you have it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2005
I've been making this recipe for over a year now - it is a FAVORITE!! I use Smoked Gouda instead of mozzerella (has more flavor). You do have to be a fan of capers and kalamata olives to really enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WebsByMegan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2004
Nice for a different pasta dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2004
This was a very tasty dinner, and a recipe that you can definitely adjust to your taste. I made it mostly according to the recipe this time--I did add a little white wine to the sauce, and because mine cooked a bit too long (started the pasta late, and it was whole wheat pasta, so it takes longer!) and was getting dried out, I tossed in some leftover diced tomatoes I had on hand. Next time I think I'll try it with feta instead, and you could also add other things like artichokes or a different kind of sausage....it will be fun to experiment! Note: most of these ingredients are salty, so this is not for the sodium-conscious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2004
I expected a better response from this recipe. But I was the only one that went back for more. If the guys don't care for it, it just doesn't make it in my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cheyenne, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pasta Fagioli

Watch how to make this top-rated recipe.

Roasted Veggie Pasta

See how to make a healthy, rustic Italian-inspired pasta.

Pasta Pomodoro

See how to make a simple, flavorful fresh tomato sauce for pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States