Chuckwagon Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2003
Great use for leftover baked beans and potatoes!! This stew is quite hearty and tastes great - especially with some spice added (I added hot pepper flakes, cayenne and white pepper). I tried cooking this on high in my slow cooker for four hours, and the meat was still pink, so I'd go with 5 hours on the high setting at a minimum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Issaquah, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2003
Great spin on crockpot beef stew, hearty and filling even the kids like it. If you don't use barbeque beans I would add extra spice, maybe bottled barbeque sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2004
This was awesome. I fixed this for our Church Potluck and everyone from young to old loved it. Very hearty and awesome for a crowd.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2003
The aroma of this dish slowly cooking in the crockpot wets your mouth with anticipation. From my youngest child to my husband, this recipe was a huge hit! Definitely an addition to our favorite meal list. I am a post-op gastric bypass patient, and I enjoyed a tiny amount of this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Fort Drum, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2005
Really yummy, my family loved this!! Thanks for a great & super easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rockhampton, Queensland, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2003
This was a hit with my family! I didn't have the bar-b-que benas so I substituted 2 15oz. cans of pork & beans and added bar-b-que sauce to taste. Also, my husband tasted it about and hour before the end of the cooking time and suggested that I add liquid smoke. I did and that really brought out the flavor. Will use this recipe often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Malvern, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2005
I did a few things differently but not enough to make the recipe change. The amount of the meat was different because it's what I had. I did a pound of the cubed beef and a pound of the smoked sausage. I didn't have a can of BBQ baked beans so I used a regular can of baked beans and added a little bit of BBQ sauce. I also added carrots so there was a veggie in there. I loved it. My husband thought it didn't have flavor which is wrong. It's just that there was too much of the BBQ flavor and so it tasted like a BBQ meal. Next time I won't add the BBQ sauce. My son also like it. Will definately make again. It's so easy. Oh, and by the way...I'm not comfortable with putting most meat in the crockpot without browning first. I like to get rid of some of the fat and grease, which is what I did with the beef in this recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2004
I tired this for a Sunday meal and let me tell ya it was a hit with my husband. I think this is a great chunky meal great served over cornbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2005
This has become a family favorite. It is so easy and delicious. Very hearty- great for a cold night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2005
My family absolutely LOVES this recipe! It fills the house with a wonderful aroma while cooking, and tastes even better! I love how this recipe can be so flexible. When I am out of smoked sausage or stew meat, I have substituted with hot dogs and roast, and it still tastes great! I have passed this recipe along to friends and they all love it! This one is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV

See how to make a classic wine-based stew in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States