Chuckwagon Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2003
Great use for leftover baked beans and potatoes!! This stew is quite hearty and tastes great - especially with some spice added (I added hot pepper flakes, cayenne and white pepper). I tried cooking this on high in my slow cooker for four hours, and the meat was still pink, so I'd go with 5 hours on the high setting at a minimum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Issaquah, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2003
Great spin on crockpot beef stew, hearty and filling even the kids like it. If you don't use barbeque beans I would add extra spice, maybe bottled barbeque sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2003
I wasn't a fan of this one. It was definitely hearty, but it lacked pizazz and flavor. You can try livening it up by adding spices and green peppers, but I haven't even touched the leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Bishop Hamm

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2003
The aroma of this dish slowly cooking in the crockpot wets your mouth with anticipation. From my youngest child to my husband, this recipe was a huge hit! Definitely an addition to our favorite meal list. I am a post-op gastric bypass patient, and I enjoyed a tiny amount of this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Fort Drum, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2003
This was a hit with my family! I didn't have the bar-b-que benas so I substituted 2 15oz. cans of pork & beans and added bar-b-que sauce to taste. Also, my husband tasted it about and hour before the end of the cooking time and suggested that I add liquid smoke. I did and that really brought out the flavor. Will use this recipe often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Malvern, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2003
Tasteless!! I threw the recipe out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2004
I tired this for a Sunday meal and let me tell ya it was a hit with my husband. I think this is a great chunky meal great served over cornbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2004
My husband and I loved this! So easy and smelled great cooking in the crockpot. I couldn't find BBQ beans so just added barbeque sauce to regular baked beans. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Beech Grove, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2004
This was awesome. I fixed this for our Church Potluck and everyone from young to old loved it. Very hearty and awesome for a crowd.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2004
I completely agree w/ "MisDaeMeanor"s review. It's okay. Nothing special. It needs something to add some pizzazz.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newberry, Michigan, USA
Living In: Rhinelander, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV

See how to make a classic wine-based stew in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States