Chuckwagon Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2006
This recipe was ok, my husband wasn't that into it. I thought it was interesting but it needed a bit more play on the bake beans. It also seemed like it was to mushy, maybe cook for a shorter time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beanie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alliance, Ohio, USA
Living In: Franklin, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2006
Wowwee that was good.. but to be fair, I only used this recipe as a "guideline". First of all I browned the beef (not the sausage), then, I did not have BBQ beans, so I used baked and BBQ sauce ( I love it when I can use 1/2 open containers), then I found out we were out of potatoes, so I used 1/2 a bag of frozen french fries... MAN THAT WAS GOOD! It was a slusshy texture and both the wife and kids thought that "Dad messed up again" until they ate it... wonderfull. I can't wait until I make the recepie the way it was writen up....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheManCooks

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2006
Wow! This was a very delicous dish! As always, I read several reviews and made a couple of changes. I did brown both the sausage and beef cubes before adding to the slow cooker. I used 2 large cans of veg. baked beans and added 1/4c bbq sauce along with 1t LA Gold (hot sauce). This simmered away for appox. 7 hrs. on low. I'm very glad I made the additions and/or changes. Next time (and there WILL be a next time) I'll most likely increase the stew meat by an additional pound.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: White Oak, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Westminster, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2006
The flavor was okay but it was WAY too starchy for us. With both the potatoes and the beans it was almost like eating mashed potatoes mixed with baked beans. We probably won't make this again. It was just average.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bmatheson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shelley, Idaho, USA
Living In: Layton, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2006
i was looking for something heary for my crock pot on a cold snowy winter day, came across this and decided to try it i did not use the potatoes but added chopped carrots, i doubled the recipe too and froze some for the next snowstorm we have !! my hubby and kids loved it (4 and 5) my youngest is hard to make foods for taht everyone can eat due to milk soy allergies, but this was made with everything he could eat. this is a definate will make again adn it is awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy Massalski Ferrazza

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2006
My family loved this recipe. Using the barbecued baked beans definitely makes a difference but I added a little spicy BBQ sauce anyway and a little chopped bell pepper. Great with cornbread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tonawanda, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2006
My husband grew up on a ranch and thought this was a taste of home! My children and I liked it also but it was a bit too meaty for my taste. It was also a little too thick. Next time I will add more veggies and more beans and/or bbq sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2005
My family enjoyed this recipe. I added 1/2 large sweet onion, chopped. I also browned and seasoned the stew meat before placing in crock-pot. I used Bush's Barbeque Baked Beans, 2 28oz cans, and drained juices from one of them before putting in crock-pot. I also added 1/2 bottle of our favorite barbeque sauce. I think this recipe is great because you can customize it so easily to your families taste. If you found it bland but liked it otherwise, try it again seasoning the meat and adding in some of your family’s favorite flavors, I did and it was a hit. Try a little mustard for a tang. I am going to put chunked pineapple in next time. Little meatballs instead of stew meat if your kids don’t like stew meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2005
Overall a good recipe and worth making. I used uncooked sausages and browned them first before putting them in the slow cooker. I also added an extra can of BBQ beans and some carrots. The carrots added some good flavor and I think next time I might add some turnip. The whole family enjoyed it and that is hard to find in a family of 5. I also made some homemade cornbread muffins and they went perfectly with it. My muffin receipe is posted here, so check it out if you need one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2005
Absolutely WONDERFUL stew! I made it twice last week, once for a potluck and it was GONE! The only change I made was the FIRST time I made it I used one big can of baked beans and one of the smaller cans of baked beans. The second time I made it, so it would feed more people, I used the little smokies sausages and cut them in half, and I put in 1 lb of ground beef (raw) into the mix as well and then topped with the big can/small can of baked beans. We served this with cornbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Bovenkamp

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV

See how to make a classic wine-based stew in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States