Chuckwagon Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2007
My family of 4 really liked this, and I do have one truly picky eater. It's well named - it's kind of like a trip down the serving line of your favorite bbq joint. You can add bbq sauce and extra veggies if you like, the recipe is very easy to personalize. But my family liked it just as written. I did not pre-brown anything and it came out of the crock pot just great. It seemed like a offbeat twist on bbq, familiar flavors but a different presentation - and no grill to heat or prep to do at the end of a long day. I'll definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Coppell, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2007
You really need to take the time to season the meat and brown it prior to adding to the slow cooker, otherwise it ends up bland and mushy tasting. I used 2 lbs of chuck roast cut into 1 1/2 inch cubes seasoned with salt, pepper, garlic powder and red pepper flake. I browned the meat in 1 tablespoon of oil before adding to the slow cooker. After I browned the meat, I sauted the onion along with 2 cloves of garlic until lightly golden. Doing this may take a little bit of time, but it does wonders to add flavor to the final stew. Also, I needed to add a 16 oz bottle of barbecue sauce to ensure there was enough sauce. I thinned it with a 1/2 cup of beef stock. Garnished the stew with cheddard cheese and served over biscuits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Packwood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2007
Everyone loves this recipe..even my daughter's picky boyfriend. I made a few additions. I added extra onions and a can of diced tomatos. Try the Busch's baked beans Bold and Spicy blend. They have cilantro, which really adds some flavor! A great recipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly Kotz Walls

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northfield, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Rochester, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2007
This was OK, but I probably won't be making it again. I did add barbecue sauce as other reviewers suggested, and used regular baked beans. The flavor of the beans came through too strongly for my husband and 4 year old daughter, but older daughter liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth H

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2006
We thought this was pretty good. Very high protein with all the meat and beans and especially easy to make too. I do wish I'd made a vegetable side to go with it though. Just the stew with corn muffins seemed like too much meat. I would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clarksville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2006
I thought this was great! I added a tablespoon of brown sugar and some corn and served it over rice (not that I needed any more starch), but it was so hearty and welcoming on a cool winter evening. Will definitely add to my list of faves!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lu

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Johns Creek, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2006
The flavor was excellent, although a little thicker than I would want. the second time I made this I browned my steak first, then made a gravy out of the pan drippings and added it to the slow cooker. It was amazing! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Empire, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2006
I would give this only three stars, but since my hubby liked it, I'll give it the extra one. I added carrots, hot sauce and liquid smoke as other reviewers suggested, and while the carrots and hot sauce were fine, the liquid smoke combined with the smoked sausage I used was too much smoke. I could eat it, but would definitely encourage my hubby to taste the concoction (he added the liquid smoke near the end of cooking, as I was at work yet) before adding the smoke if we ever make this again. Overall, a good, hearty meal on a cold, snowy day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katiemaytoo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2006
Very good as a base, but added a few things. Used turkey sausage to lighten up meat a bit and added carrots and celery for a bit of crunch. Also substituted 1/2 potatoes with sweet potatoes. Used an additional cup of tangy barbeque sause for flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2006
my kids love this! I lost the recipe when we moved and they've been begging for it since it's cold outside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV

See how to make a classic wine-based stew in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States