Chuckwagon Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2009
This was a really hearty stew that pleased my veggie-hating hubby. I tweaked it slightly by omitting one of the potatoes and adding 1/4 c. barley and 1 c. of beef broth. Delicious! I'll definitely make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. J

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gresham, Oregon, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
Todd loved this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
Quick, easy and tasty. Husband wasn't crazy about it but the kids and I really liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2008
Husband and youngest son loved this recipe! Goes great with cornbread :)I may leave the potatoes out the next time though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
I couldn't remember the name of this recipe and have been looking for it since I made it a year ago. My husband loved it and so did I. It makes great left overs and is so simple. Goes great with some corn bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOULEC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
This is very good & hearty. Very thick. I added shredded cheese to my bowl. It would definitely be fine with a little less meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2007
I just made this today; I knew we were going to have a busy day, so I planned ahead and threw it in the crockpot this morning. I followed someone else's suggestion, and browned the stew beef a bit with some seasonings and onions before I put it in the crockpot. I cut the potatoes into small cubes since we have little ones, and used regular baked beans. Left it on low for 8 hours-- I was concerned it wouldn't be juicy enough, but it was just perfect! My two little girls (2 and 3) ate their entire bowlful, and my husband had 2 big bowls. I served it with bbq sauce on the side, and a loaf of hot, fresh bread. Perfect meal for a winter evening!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by laura p

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manassas, Virginia, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2007
This turned out VERY smokey flavored. I would use a can of regular baked beans and one smoked next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kari Evans Ryan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Brownell, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2007
I prepared this exactly as written, using bar-b-qued baked beans, and it was delicious. Very very easy to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2007
ive cooked this a few times and allways goes down so well even my daughter who normally won't eat beef loves it so well done and thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Make-Ahead Slow Cooker Beef Stew

See how to make a flavorful beef stew with vegetables in a slow-cooker.

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States