Chuckwagon Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
Okay...so go ahead and laugh. This looks like a pile of chunky gop. LOL But this chunky gop, my family loved! I followed to a T with ingredients. But I ended up stirring the whole pot together instead of the 1st 4 and then top with beans. My bad. However, my husband and kids loved very much I'd make it again too. Good hearty filling dish on a cold night when you need something to stick to your bones. I also doubled the recipe because I bought some bargain priced meat and had leftover smoked sausage that I wanted to use up. Won't go to waste in my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
We enjoyed this recipe. I seasoned with garlic powder, onion powder, and cumin. I also added a can of drained sweet corn. The only thing I would change for next time is the stew meat. I didn't brown it before putting in the crockpot but will try that next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
Tasty for sure the only things i did differently was I added some chopped carrots
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FarahM

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
Family LOVED this recipe. Husband took some for next days lunch. Used Bush's BBQ Grillin Beans - Lots of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coon Rapids, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Anoka, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
Husband loved this! I did not care for it, but I didn't get to eat it untill the next day. We will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
It was good - hard to tell what would make it a 5-Star meal. I browned the meat, like some reviewers suggested, and even tossed the stew meat in some McCormick Fiery 5 Pepper and used almost a full small bottle of Tangy & Sweet BBQ sauce after everything was in the crockpot. Meat was real tender, but the stew was lacking something. Maybe more of the Fiery 5 Pepper seasoning or maybe just a tablespoon or two of Cayenne - something to give it some kick. The wife said the recipe was a keeper, so, next time I'll try things just a little differently.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2011
I use this recipe often for friends coming over. I added 1/2 tsp. liquid smoke and chopped up the chuck steaks myself. I think the chopped steak was better meat than the stew meat. I can trim all the excess fat off so to not get an over powering grease flavor. Then I added 1/4 cup of my favorite BBQ sauce and it tastes GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
My husband loves this. Made it word for word first time. Deleted the stew meat and just ad 2 lbs of smoked sausage. Just use any baked beans and some BBQ sauce. Adding corn is good too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2011
I had all the ingredients in the house so i decided to test this out. I did season/brown the meat in advance. Turned out great. Thought it could use a bit more flavor, and i'll experiment with it again. Great base receipe, super easy. cooked fast, would recommend a shorter cook time if using high setting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
Very tasty dish. Goes quite well with biscuits. Did get a bit dry and overcooked... next time will cook a bit less
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kittypodz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lander, Wyoming, USA
Living In: San Clemente, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Make-Ahead Slow Cooker Beef Stew

See how to make a flavorful beef stew with vegetables in a slow-cooker.

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States