Chuckwagon Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
Tasty for sure the only things i did differently was I added some chopped carrots
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FarahM

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
Family LOVED this recipe. Husband took some for next days lunch. Used Bush's BBQ Grillin Beans - Lots of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coon Rapids, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Anoka, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
Husband loved this! I did not care for it, but I didn't get to eat it untill the next day. We will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
It was good - hard to tell what would make it a 5-Star meal. I browned the meat, like some reviewers suggested, and even tossed the stew meat in some McCormick Fiery 5 Pepper and used almost a full small bottle of Tangy & Sweet BBQ sauce after everything was in the crockpot. Meat was real tender, but the stew was lacking something. Maybe more of the Fiery 5 Pepper seasoning or maybe just a tablespoon or two of Cayenne - something to give it some kick. The wife said the recipe was a keeper, so, next time I'll try things just a little differently.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2011
I use this recipe often for friends coming over. I added 1/2 tsp. liquid smoke and chopped up the chuck steaks myself. I think the chopped steak was better meat than the stew meat. I can trim all the excess fat off so to not get an over powering grease flavor. Then I added 1/4 cup of my favorite BBQ sauce and it tastes GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
My husband loves this. Made it word for word first time. Deleted the stew meat and just ad 2 lbs of smoked sausage. Just use any baked beans and some BBQ sauce. Adding corn is good too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2011
I had all the ingredients in the house so i decided to test this out. I did season/brown the meat in advance. Turned out great. Thought it could use a bit more flavor, and i'll experiment with it again. Great base receipe, super easy. cooked fast, would recommend a shorter cook time if using high setting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
Very tasty dish. Goes quite well with biscuits. Did get a bit dry and overcooked... next time will cook a bit less
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kittypodz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lander, Wyoming, USA
Living In: San Clemente, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
I would add the sausage toward the end next time, if I make it again, it was really overcooked and gave the meat a bad taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jlphalen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
Very good. I made it without the sausage for a potluck where it was well received.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV

See how to make a classic wine-based stew in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States