Chuckwagon Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by npoirier
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
I think this recipe is a great place to start. Like some of the other reviewers, I browned by beef first. I changed it up a little bit by sauteing it in olive oil along with some bacon, garlic powder, onion powder, red pepper flakes and chili powder. I also used Bush's Chili Starter instead of BBQ baked beans. The end result was a hearty and spicy version that I give five stars too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by npoirier

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
This was really good, but like others said, it was a bit bland. The 2nd time I made it, I added a can of rotel tomatoes, and a can of corn. I also added about a cup of beef broth, with some garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
had to add a bit of water to moisten it up. Otherwise a very hearty meal, the stick to your ribs kinda meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SHAMROKSHANNON
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
I liked this recipe - very easy. Because I don't like sausage I omitted that and increased the beef. I also browned the meat prior to putting it in the crockpot (per recommendations). I used Bush's Grilling Beans (they have any variety to suit your tastebuds) and the peppers in the beans gave it some good color - the moisture from the beans created plenty of sauce for the meal. I added corn because I thought it needed more starch - LOL. Since it made so much I shared with a few neighbors and they really like it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHAMROKSHANNON

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cottage Grove, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Woodbury, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
George found this and really likes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2012
My very picky family loved this recipe! thanks so much for sharing. Added corn and green beans. With a good crusty bread this is an awesome winter meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2012
Really good recipe as is, which is how I made it, but I think next time I'll leave out the potates, add a little extra beef and serve it over rice or better yet, over fried potatoes! Baby carrots would be a good addition too. Very quick and easy. Thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HoboBeaver

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Broken Arrow, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
Was just OK for my family and I. Was a bit plain. Although it was easy and I would make in a pinch if needed. Might try it over mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vermilion, Ohio, USA
Living In: Sandusky, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
Okay...so go ahead and laugh. This looks like a pile of chunky gop. LOL But this chunky gop, my family loved! I followed to a T with ingredients. But I ended up stirring the whole pot together instead of the 1st 4 and then top with beans. My bad. However, my husband and kids loved very much I'd make it again too. Good hearty filling dish on a cold night when you need something to stick to your bones. I also doubled the recipe because I bought some bargain priced meat and had leftover smoked sausage that I wanted to use up. Won't go to waste in my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
We enjoyed this recipe. I seasoned with garlic powder, onion powder, and cumin. I also added a can of drained sweet corn. The only thing I would change for next time is the stew meat. I didn't brown it before putting in the crockpot but will try that next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV

See how to make a classic wine-based stew in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States