Chuckwagon Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 23, 2015
Good for camping or going RVing . Try it you will like it. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2015
Pretty good but a touch too sweet for us. If I make this again I would choose bold and spicy beans over BBQ. Left out the potato as I served this over big spicy steak fries per some of the reviews, yum! Added probably about 1/2 cup of our favorite BB sauce (again would change what I chose), but this makes it's own liquid so don't make the mistake of adding extra liquid (I was tempted...glad I didn't.) When done after 8 hours in the slow cooker, I added more spices; more salt, freshly cracked pepper, more crushed red pepper, more garlic, tad bit of liquid smoke and a tsp or more of worstershire sauce. There is absolutely no need to brown the meat first; done that and it makes no difference after the meat is slow cooked for 8 hours or more. Seasoned the beef first with salt, pepper, red pepper flake, and garlic powder before cooking (should have added more red pepper. ). Loaded a half jar of pickled jalapeños in the last hour of cooking, that turned out well. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DADAY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Photo by npoirier
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
I think this recipe is a great place to start. Like some of the other reviewers, I browned by beef first. I changed it up a little bit by sauteing it in olive oil along with some bacon, garlic powder, onion powder, red pepper flakes and chili powder. I also used Bush's Chili Starter instead of BBQ baked beans. The end result was a hearty and spicy version that I give five stars too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by npoirier

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
This was really good, but like others said, it was a bit bland. The 2nd time I made it, I added a can of rotel tomatoes, and a can of corn. I also added about a cup of beef broth, with some garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
had to add a bit of water to moisten it up. Otherwise a very hearty meal, the stick to your ribs kinda meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SHAMROKSHANNON
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
I liked this recipe - very easy. Because I don't like sausage I omitted that and increased the beef. I also browned the meat prior to putting it in the crockpot (per recommendations). I used Bush's Grilling Beans (they have any variety to suit your tastebuds) and the peppers in the beans gave it some good color - the moisture from the beans created plenty of sauce for the meal. I added corn because I thought it needed more starch - LOL. Since it made so much I shared with a few neighbors and they really like it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHAMROKSHANNON

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cottage Grove, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Woodbury, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
George found this and really likes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2012
My very picky family loved this recipe! thanks so much for sharing. Added corn and green beans. With a good crusty bread this is an awesome winter meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2012
Really good recipe as is, which is how I made it, but I think next time I'll leave out the potates, add a little extra beef and serve it over rice or better yet, over fried potatoes! Baby carrots would be a good addition too. Very quick and easy. Thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HoboBeaver

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Broken Arrow, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
Was just OK for my family and I. Was a bit plain. Although it was easy and I would make in a pinch if needed. Might try it over mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vermilion, Ohio, USA
Living In: Sandusky, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Make-Ahead Slow Cooker Beef Stew

See how to make a flavorful beef stew with vegetables in a slow-cooker.

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States