Chuckwagon Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 23, 2015
Good for camping or going RVing . Try it you will like it. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2015
Pretty good but a touch too sweet for us. If I make this again I would choose bold and spicy beans over BBQ. Left out the potato as I served this over big spicy steak fries per some of the reviews, yum! Added probably about 1/2 cup of our favorite BB sauce (again would change what I chose), but this makes it's own liquid so don't make the mistake of adding extra liquid (I was tempted...glad I didn't.) When done after 8 hours in the slow cooker, I added more spices; more salt, freshly cracked pepper, more crushed red pepper, more garlic, tad bit of liquid smoke and a tsp or more of worstershire sauce. There is absolutely no need to brown the meat first; done that and it makes no difference after the meat is slow cooked for 8 hours or more. Seasoned the beef first with salt, pepper, red pepper flake, and garlic powder before cooking (should have added more red pepper. ). Loaded a half jar of pickled jalapeños in the last hour of cooking, that turned out well. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DADAY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Photo by npoirier
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
I think this recipe is a great place to start. Like some of the other reviewers, I browned by beef first. I changed it up a little bit by sauteing it in olive oil along with some bacon, garlic powder, onion powder, red pepper flakes and chili powder. I also used Bush's Chili Starter instead of BBQ baked beans. The end result was a hearty and spicy version that I give five stars too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by npoirier

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
This was really good, but like others said, it was a bit bland. The 2nd time I made it, I added a can of rotel tomatoes, and a can of corn. I also added about a cup of beef broth, with some garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
had to add a bit of water to moisten it up. Otherwise a very hearty meal, the stick to your ribs kinda meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SHAMROKSHANNON
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
I liked this recipe - very easy. Because I don't like sausage I omitted that and increased the beef. I also browned the meat prior to putting it in the crockpot (per recommendations). I used Bush's Grilling Beans (they have any variety to suit your tastebuds) and the peppers in the beans gave it some good color - the moisture from the beans created plenty of sauce for the meal. I added corn because I thought it needed more starch - LOL. Since it made so much I shared with a few neighbors and they really like it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHAMROKSHANNON

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cottage Grove, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Woodbury, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
George found this and really likes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2012
My very picky family loved this recipe! thanks so much for sharing. Added corn and green beans. With a good crusty bread this is an awesome winter meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2012
Really good recipe as is, which is how I made it, but I think next time I'll leave out the potates, add a little extra beef and serve it over rice or better yet, over fried potatoes! Baby carrots would be a good addition too. Very quick and easy. Thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HoboBeaver

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Broken Arrow, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
Was just OK for my family and I. Was a bit plain. Although it was easy and I would make in a pinch if needed. Might try it over mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vermilion, Ohio, USA
Living In: Sandusky, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Make-Ahead Slow Cooker Beef Stew

See how to make a flavorful beef stew with vegetables in a slow-cooker.

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States