Chuck's Molasses French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
Great recipe. I substituted ground nutmeg for the ginger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacob Zimmerman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
Have made this several times almost as written - used whole graim wheat bread and a few times forgot the cinnamon. It is delicious anytime of day.... ive even had this for dessert. I drizzled organic ginger syrup that I happened to have In my pantry on top with whipped cream over that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
We liked this rather subtle variation. I left out the sugar - no need when you are going to use syrup anyway. I didn't get much molasses flavor so may add more next time. We embellished with fresh raspberries. yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
Nice flavoring from the typical french toast. I like a bit more ginger and cinnamon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
Fantastic! I love the depth the molasses adds. Used 1 tsp. cinnamon + tad of sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by aliciafig
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
This was tasty for me (I love dark molasses). The bf added European butter and Maple Syrup. He is not a fan of molasses. I did not use Challah bread (I do not keep that "in stock" and this was a whim). I used plain old white bread. I am lacto-intolerant and he drank all of his 2% milk other day so I subbed Silk Soy Milk. Next time I think I would use 2 tbls and 2 tsp of molasses. Will try this again but have to find a way to make the bf also happy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jen914
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
Just made this recipe with "Cinnamon Cream Syrup" recipe from this site. It was DELICIOUS! Only thing I did differently was add a little salt to the egg mixture and I used French Bread (from "French Bread" recipe from this site, also an excellent recipe)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
Excellent! The molasses really adds a great flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2011
perfect!!! used vanilla rice milk as i didn't have any heavy cream and I forgot the ginger. deeelishioussss
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DaJoy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Far Rockaway, New York, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2011
Eh, it was okay. I thought the molasses was a bit much. It was nice to try a different variation of French toast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pointe-Claire, Quebec, Canada

Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fluffy French Toast

See how to make wonderfully light and fluffy French toast.

How to Make French Toast

See how to make French toast—and which bread makes the best.

Baked French Toast

This baked French toast casserole is so tasty, and easy to assemble.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States