Chuck's Favorite Mac and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
The recipe calls for 8 oz. not a BOX of macaroni; my mistake but that's why it was dry and others rate it the same. I pureed the cottage cheese with 1/2 cup milk but it still wasn't creamy; probably because I used a box of macaroni and not 8 oz. I will try this recipe again but want others to read and rate this recipe accordingly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Colonial Heights, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2014
It's really easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
Excellent recipe; take the time to read through some of the reviews and tweak according to your own taste. I doubled recipe, used as many fat-free or low fat ingredients as I could. Definitely puree the cottage cheese, all we have is a little Bullet so had to add about 1/2 of 2% milk to get it to blend. I used a big tupperware bowl and mixed all the ingredients together, then added cooked macaroni and mixed well. Couldn't resist throwing in a good handful of real bacon chips (didn't have time to cook some bacon) and instead of bread crumbs I sprinkled shredded cheddar on the top. I also probably added at least another 1/2 cup of milk to make the entire mixture a teeny bit soupy. Wow, what an incredible mac & cheese delight. Husband loved it. The only thing I'm going to change is next time go with a whole wheat pasta and skim milk. It is a definite "go for it" recipe for even a beginner to try. The folks saying it came out dry probably used pre packeaged cheese. If that's what you use add milk - pasta takes on a lot of fluid. Should come out of the oven bubbling like mad and need a few minutes "set" time. As the recipe is doubled I was able to make a 9x13 pan full as well as a 9X9 pan for a neighbor. Baked both at that suggested 350 degrees on the same rack for about 40 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jljones0140
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
Doubled all the ingredients except for the bread crumb topping, and it was perfect. Also added a little bit of rice milk just to ensure it didn't go dry. This was so easy, and it's absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2014
I really liked the flavor of this Mac and Cheese. I made it according to the directions, but used garlic salt instead of regular salt because that's what I use for cooking. I also didn't have any plain breadcrumbs, so I substituted some crumbled up butter crackers. Needless to say it didn't stay on the table for long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by coriluu1
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2014
The taste was amazing. I altered the recipe and added left over ham and peas. I would add a little milk to make it creamy in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
I made this recipe as directed, however I used cheez-its(without the butter)instead of bread crumbs and added a layer of parmesan on top. We did 20 minutes in the oven and 20 minutes in the smoker. Everyone at the party loved it and took home all the leftovers, but I was honestly a bit disappointed. I was really looking for a creamier texture and tangy bite and I just don't feel like this recipe delivered. I have a feeling most of the guys liked it because of the smoke flavor, but I'm not a huge fan of the smoke and I think otherwise it may not have been such a big hit. For me it was just ok. This was really my first time making homemade mac n' cheese, but I think I'll keep looking for a recipe with a creamier consistency. Thanks anyway
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pampered Chef Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pleasant Hill, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
This has become our very favorite Mac and cheese recipe! I make it as written (although sometimes my fresh grated Parmesan is actually Parmesan, Romano, Asiago blend). My daughter's boyfriend also loves it and, I think, could eat the entire pan himself. Not sure how it tastes the next day because we've never had any leftovers. Thank you for a wonderful, comforting, delicious side dish. Four thumbs up from this family of cheeseheads! MMMMmmmmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
Doubled the recipe for a barbecue at the house. It was a huge hit. Wife said it was the best Mac & Cheese ever. It'll be a staple in my recipe box now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2014
This recipe is delish! I make pretty much the way it says in the recipe, except I don't really measure anything. This makes it end up tasting a little different every time, but we don't mind. The only thing I really do differently is that I skip the bread crumb/butter mixture. Instead, I just save a little of the grated cheese to sprinkle on top, and then sprinkle the bread crumbs on top of that before I put it in the oven. It still gets nice and crispy on top, but without the added butter! Yum! I will be making this for supper tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 2,222) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Chuck's Favorite Mac and Cheese

This creamy mac and cheese includes cottage cheese and sour cream. Yum!

Mom’s Favorite Baked Mac and Cheese

This creamy baked comfort food classic has two kinds of cheese.

Baked Macaroni and Cheese III

This baked mac and cheese is so delicious, your guests will beg for seconds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States