Chuck's Favorite Mac and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
Love this recipe. I have a wheat allergy so I used my gluten free (bionaturae brand) noodles. These are the only noodles to hold up to any pasta dish. I also added 1/2 diced onion and 6 slices thick bacon. Both onion and bacon sauted together and added to the sauce. I leave the bread crumbs off all together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Port Townsend, Washington, USA
Living In: North Bend, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
I have been looking for a mac & cheese receip which did not use milk and eggs as a "custard" type when baked. My husband commented after the first bite, "this sure ain't Kraft, but it's like going back to my childhood. THIS is what mac & cheese is suppose to be"!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
Very good. Got lots of compliments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by arg

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
I make this recipe all the time. My family loves it so much. The great thing about mac and cheese is you can tweak it to your liking. I add a teaspoon of dry mustard to the recipe just like my mother always did, and it adds a slight tang. I do use a 16 oz. container of cottage cheese for extra moisture. I also use a triple cheddar cheese blend with cream cheese for the cheddar. I am heavy handed with pepper, so it really has good flavor. Try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jillk

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
I have used this recipe (with less breadcrumbs and the addition of about 1/2 cup of milk) many times now and it's a crowd favorite! It's being requested again for yet another event, superbowl mac and cheese this time!! And with the addition of milk to the cheese mixture, the leftover's are never dry and always nice and creamy. One other tip, when people ask why it's so good and what the ingredients are, don't tell them it's made with cottage cheese. For some reason that seems to scare some people and they make sour faces at the thought of it. Just leave that as the "secret ingredient."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
Delicious our new way of making mac.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thecritic

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
Tastes like moms cottage cheese perogies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
I was so disappointed!! After reading the Most Helpful reviews, I was salivating at the thought of how amazing this would be. I should have paid attention to the 1 Star reviews!! It was bland, and boring, and no one in my family liked it at all. They didn't even finish their servings, and filled up on salad instead. If I wanted to change this recipe enough to make it palatable, then it would not be this recipe any more. I'm throwing out the leftovers *and* the recipe, and continuing my search for a great mac & cheese!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
"This could get addicting," said hubby while going in for seconds. He laughed when I said we were having mac and cheese for dinner. "What are we, 5 years old?!" Guess who got the last laugh?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago Heights, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
5 stars! I make this all of the time now, it's one of my husband's favorites. I double the shredded cheese, and add roughly 1/4 cup of milk as per some of the reviewer's suggestions. I usually substitute crushed Ritz crackers for the bread crumbs, as we like their crunchy texture and buttery flavor. With these simple alterations, this dish is always a winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 2,210) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chuck's Favorite Mac and Cheese

This creamy mac and cheese includes cottage cheese and sour cream. Yum!

Mom’s Favorite Baked Mac and Cheese

This creamy baked comfort food classic has two kinds of cheese.

Restaurant Style Mac and Cheese

Make rich, creamy macaroni and cheese on the stovetop.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States