Chuck's Favorite Mac and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
I made this recipe as directed, however I used cheez-its(without the butter)instead of bread crumbs and added a layer of parmesan on top. We did 20 minutes in the oven and 20 minutes in the smoker. Everyone at the party loved it and took home all the leftovers, but I was honestly a bit disappointed. I was really looking for a creamier texture and tangy bite and I just don't feel like this recipe delivered. I have a feeling most of the guys liked it because of the smoke flavor, but I'm not a huge fan of the smoke and I think otherwise it may not have been such a big hit. For me it was just ok. This was really my first time making homemade mac n' cheese, but I think I'll keep looking for a recipe with a creamier consistency. Thanks anyway
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pampered Chef Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pleasant Hill, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
This has become our very favorite Mac and cheese recipe! I make it as written (although sometimes my fresh grated Parmesan is actually Parmesan, Romano, Asiago blend). My daughter's boyfriend also loves it and, I think, could eat the entire pan himself. Not sure how it tastes the next day because we've never had any leftovers. Thank you for a wonderful, comforting, delicious side dish. Four thumbs up from this family of cheeseheads! MMMMmmmmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
Doubled the recipe for a barbecue at the house. It was a huge hit. Wife said it was the best Mac & Cheese ever. It'll be a staple in my recipe box now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2014
This recipe is delish! I make pretty much the way it says in the recipe, except I don't really measure anything. This makes it end up tasting a little different every time, but we don't mind. The only thing I really do differently is that I skip the bread crumb/butter mixture. Instead, I just save a little of the grated cheese to sprinkle on top, and then sprinkle the bread crumbs on top of that before I put it in the oven. It still gets nice and crispy on top, but without the added butter! Yum! I will be making this for supper tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
I tried it with half sour cream/plain Greek yogurt, cottage cheese 2%, and creamy havarti with aged white cheddar. Used penko and spices with butter for the topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Corena Gray

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
Amazing! I added some garlic powder and cubed ham. My kids LOVE it!!! A big hit in my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetAngellsKitchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oregon City, Oregon, USA
Living In: Molalla, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
This is amazing! I was honestly a little terrified when I was mixing all of the ingredients together, but my entire family agree that this is an amazing Mac and Cheese and that's saying a lot because we feed 3 kids under the age of 6!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
I thought this was delicious! My only question is if anybody has tried to purée the cottage cheese and if it changes anything? While it tastes great, I think it looks unappealing with the chunks of cottage cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
very good and very easy. made it exactly as described in the recipe. i didn't cover it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2014
My family and I absolutely loved this recipe. I've been craving S'MAC since leaving NYC. I couldn't believe that this turned out better than the best Mac & Cheese we've ever had. I used gluten-free brown rice pasta to accommodate our gluten allergies. As suggested by other reviewers, I blended 1/2 cup milk and cottage cheese together. To intensify the flavor I included onion powder, garlic powder, nutmeg, dried basil, and himalayan salt. Instead of breadcrumbs, I generously added a layer of mozzarella cheese on top. I covered and baked the dish for 15 minutes then removed the aluminum foil. After another 15 minutes I broiled the pasta for 5 minutes to thicken and brown the top layer. Next time we'll be adding meat and vegetables to this fantastic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 2,216) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Chuck's Favorite Mac and Cheese

This creamy mac and cheese includes cottage cheese and sour cream. Yum!

Mom’s Favorite Baked Mac and Cheese

This creamy baked comfort food classic has two kinds of cheese.

Baked Mac and Cheese for One

See how to make creamy mac-and-cheese in individual portions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States