Chuck's Favorite Mac and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2014
I made this tonight and I did not change a thing. I think this recipe tastes very sharp with nothing to balance that flavor. My biggest problem with this recipe is that it is not at all like a traditional comfort food mac and cheese. It comes out white and is kinda creamy but the flavor is off. I was craving mac and cheese and took a special trip to get everything to make it. I'm going to keep looking for the perfect mac and cheese dish because this one is not it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LOACHIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2014
Delicious and quick. We have changed to low fat cheese to cut calories; it does not affect flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2014
I followed the recipe exactly, and it turned out great! It was very easy to make compared to other mac and cheese recipes where you have to make the sauce separately. It turned out just as great, and in less time. I served it with a salad of baby arugula, spinach, and cherry tomatoes, with an olive oil-based dressing, topped with Spicy Glazed Pecans (also found the recipe for those on allrecipes.com). The whole family enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
This is exactly what I was looking for in a mac and cheese. The recipe is great as is and is also good with ricotta subbed for the cottage cheese, seasoned bread crumbs for regular, dry mustard or dijon mixed in etc. I love the cheesiness, if you are like me you can add in extra to taste. Keep in mind when making a mac and cheese recipe what type of mac and cheese you are looking for. Though the creamy, bechemel sauce based recipes are great for some I find them seriously lacking in cheesiness and texture and better suited for recipes where you don't want the cheese to come through so strongly. If you like a really cheesy recipe however, this one is for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
I'm known for this particular Mac and cheese! Except I add mushroom soup, velveeta and muenster cheese. It is truly blue ribbon quality!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2014
I found it to be dryer than I like. Next time I will leave off the breadcrumbs and top with more grated cheese. If this were made with gluten free pasta and no crumbs, it would be perfect for those with gluten intolerance!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol Graham

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Newark, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2014
I enjoyed this recipe. It was very easy to make and tasted good. My only complaint is that the leftovers did taste a bit dry; next time I will follow the advice of other reviewers and add milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2014
This was great! I didn't have cream cheese, so I used some laughing cow chipotle cheese. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandy McSprouts Couillard

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milton, Vermont, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by WayneDarlene
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2014
I started making this recipe and at first I was skeptical....it was kind of soupy, didn't look very good and even my husband made a face. I put it in the oven and the whole house began to smell wonderful, even my two year old mentioned it. The end result was amazing!!!! We loved this mac & cheese and will be making it again!!! I made it exactly as as called for except no added salt and used regular cottage cheese (couldn't find small curd) Thank you for a great recipe!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
The recipe calls for 8 oz. not a BOX of macaroni; my mistake but that's why it was dry and others rate it the same. I pureed the cottage cheese with 1/2 cup milk but it still wasn't creamy; probably because I used a box of macaroni and not 8 oz. I will try this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Colonial Heights, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 2,250) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chuck's Favorite Mac and Cheese

This creamy mac and cheese includes cottage cheese and sour cream. Yum!

Mom’s Favorite Baked Mac and Cheese

This creamy baked comfort food classic has two kinds of cheese.

Baked Macaroni and Cheese III

This baked mac and cheese is so delicious, your guests will beg for seconds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States