Chuck's Favorite Mac and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2012
I made a few changes with the recipe as suggested by others. I skipped the crumb topping (toped with a very thin layer of cheddar instead). Doubled the recipe, used low fat everything, added 1 cup milk, half an onion chopped, 1 tsp dry mustard and 1 tsp smoked paprika, plenty of fresh ground black pepper, used "cork screw" pasta and some cubed ham (just because I had it) YUM!!! Next time, I will blend the cottage cheese to rid of the clumps and NOT salt the noodles and no salt to the recipe. It had plenty of salt from the cheese and ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nomi

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2012
I am giving this a 5 because I have adapted the recipe and made it even more fabulous. I make it about 3 times a year and everyone is always asking for more! I keep the recipe the same for the most part expect for these additions/subtractions - So given all of the suggestions I add 1/2 cup of milk (keeps it moist and not dried up), a jar of jalapeno cheese dip for an extra kick (it's not TOO spicy), a variety of cheeses (whatever's on sale or I go really fancy), and no bread crumbs (my personal preference).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by caressthefro

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bridgeton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2012
I love this recipe. It is always is a hit and so easy to make. Thanks for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
Creamy and good. The cheddar cheese mixed with the sour cream adds a nice tangy flavor that is very good. This recipe is a keeper!!!! I didn't know what to think about adding the cottage cheese but it makes a huge difference. I also added 1/4 cup of milk so that my mac and cheese wouldn't dry out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2012
I would never make this recipe again. I made it just as written by the original poster. I will go back to my old recipe of making a white sauce, adding the cheese and then the cooked macaroni. So simple, so smooth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
This is my new fav Mac n cheese recipe! I almost followed all ingredients except adding half cup of milk and just half the breadcrumbs. Oh and i made it with whole grain elbow pasta! Got to fit in the fiber somewhere ;) My husband was very pleased and actually likes it more than any other we have tried before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2012
Good, not great. We didn't care for the crushed bread crumbs on top, but maybe I put on too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
I've had a lot of homemade mac and cheese... but this is the first one I made because everything was on hand. It was easy and amazing! My niece, who hates Mac and cheese, ate it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hoochie Mamma

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
This dish is absolutely delightful. Everything you want macaroni and cheese to be. Creamy and cheesy magic for my mouthparts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
The ONLY reason I didn't rate this a 5 star was because I made changes without trying the original. In stead of one cup of cheddar I mixed 1/2 of sharp cheddar with a 1/2 of gruyere cheese. I did not do the butter crumb crust I did however mix the bread crumbs with left over shredded cheddar and gruyere and sprinkled it over top. It was amazing! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Noelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 2,223) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chuck's Favorite Mac and Cheese

This creamy mac and cheese includes cottage cheese and sour cream. Yum!

Mom’s Favorite Baked Mac and Cheese

This creamy baked comfort food classic has two kinds of cheese.

Baked Macaroni and Cheese III

This baked mac and cheese is so delicious, your guests will beg for seconds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States