Chuck and Potato Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2014
Followed the directions to the letter other than no mushrooms. I also chopped up and threw a whole onion on top. Used the Montreal Steak Seasoning as someone else suggested (that stuff has never let me down) but didn't worry about "browning" the roast or coating it with Kosher salt. Easily the tastiest and most flavorful roast I've ever had. The meat was perfectly tender and, slathered in the creamy soup-like mixture left over, melted in your mouth and stuck to your ribs. Perfect!!! Incidentally, it was every bit as good on day 2.......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2014
I'm in the process of cooking a chuck roast. I wound up frying up some onion (with a bit of salt and after a minute a bay leaf) and while they fried I cut the beef into four pieces so it would cook faster and the flavors could sink into more places. I added salt, black pepper, Rosemary and garlic salt. As it browned I added some potatoes, mushrooms and carrots, peeled. Once it browned on all sides I added a half cup of Chardonnay (I had no red). 3 hrs @ 325
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WoundedEgo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2013
Very good I used a half of tsp of minced garlic, chicken broth, and it was very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lavonne Day

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
The roast I made tonight with this recipe was wonderful but very very rich. Things I did different: I rinsed and patted dry the roast, lightly coated it in EVOO and sea salt then seared on all sides to lock in the juices. Since I was using canned soup I opted for the low sodium version (just two cans of regular Cream of Mushroom). I used steak cut, pre-sliced mushrooms, baby carrots and instead of placing the roast by itself in the 9x13, I added 1 cup of chicken stock (was out of beef stock) as I was worried the meat would be too dry left by itself, and placed 3 whole (un peeled) cloves of garlic that I gently smashed with the side of a knife to release the oils in the cloves, in with the broth and baked for one hour before adding the rest of the ingredients. The actual cooking time will vary based on how big your roast is and how many potatoes and carrots you use. I used more than suggested so my cooking time was increased by 45 minutes. I garnished the whole dish with freshly grated sharp cheddar cheese for last 5 minutes. In the end this made a very rich, hearty dish that I know we will make again. Not as good as the Mississippi Roast from Sweet Tea and Cornbread - but perfect comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Texasstar5000

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
Even the kids (ages 5, 7 & 10) liked this, and they HATE mushrooms!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
The whole family all loved this. I made it with out the chives and I plan on making it again without changing a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lisbon, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
Typical. Veggies were great, but the meat needed a little more flavor and still can't get it as tender as my mean ol' mama's! I cooked on high in my slow cooker for 6 hours. I'll probably have to edit my review once I try it on low for 10 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
this was the 1st time i made potroast. it was a success! i cooked it exactly like the instructions and the fam loved it! definately will make again...cooked perfectly
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
Without any changes, this is an outstanding dish. I especially like the unique taste of the mushrooms. 3-12-13: Had it again, with the same result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
I used 2 cans of regular cream mushroom and added some garlic. Very thick an tasty sauce but a bit salty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alana

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Oven-Roasted Red Potatoes

See an easy recipe for roasted red potatoes.

Smoked Sausage with Potatoes & Sauerkraut

See how to put a modern smoked sausage twist on a classic German dish.

How to Make Roasted Red Potatoes

See how to make amazing oven-roasted red potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States