Chuck Wagon Hash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2007
I am a comfort food, casserole fan, and this recipe fits the bill on both counts. The spice choices are excellent, especially the red pepper flakes which provide just the right level of bite. I only had enough cheddar cheese to cover half of the hash so I used a couple of pepper jack slices to cover the rest. Honestly, the pepper jack side was better (of course I ate some from BOTH sides, whaddayathink!)because it compliments and continues the red pepper flake theme. I don't see any reason for the rice to be "cold." The rice I used was still warm and it worked great. Thanks for a great, down-home recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CURTISLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2007
This is a very good easy recipe. The only changes I made were to use 3 cloves fresh garlic with the onions and Minute brown rice that was cooled. also I omitted the corn. My wife is a very picky eater and loved this. Will become a regular meal in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2007
This was very tasty. I served as a side with Scrambled eggs for dinner and the family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Mill City, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2010
This was way better than I expected! I made it just because I had a pound of ground beef I wanted to use up and needed a quick dinner. I would have given it 5 stars, but I think it was just a little bland - needed some salt and pepper and maybe a little heavier on the oregano and parsley.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mother Ann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Streetsboro, Ohio, USA
Living In: Ravenna, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: May 8, 2011
Not bad, was looking for a way to use up the canned goods in my pantry as well as ground beef in my freezer, as i have been cooking more healthfully lately. This was not healthy, but tasted alright, reltavively bland, added extra red pepper flakes, also used fresh garlic rather than garlic powder. It fit the bill as a quick meal, using up my ingredients. Would make it again if i was in the same situation, but definitely would not plan this as a meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2009
I cooked the onion with the beef; I added the seasonings to the beef and onion while cooking...I did add a little salt...wasn't enough in my opinion. Next time I'll change the garlic powder to garlic salt. I used a 14oz. can of Green Beans, 1+ C of shredded Monterrey Jack, which I think went well with the dish. I will increase the cayenne pepper flakes to 1 t. and maybe use Pepper Jack cheese instead. I liked eating it as a dip with Tostitos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Linda Farrell
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
Not terrible but not great either. I used "homemade chicken broth" from this site in place of the beef broth. I always use brown rice. I upped the garlic powder and decreased the oregano (our personal preference). Next time, I'll toss in some green pepper (or red) and replace the cheddar cheese with velveeta. There is real potential here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Farrell

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Arnold, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
My husband and I loved this recipe. I used half the oregano called for because neither of us are huge fans of the taste. Next time (and there will definitely be a next time) I will also cut the red pepper in half since it was a little spicy for my kids. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2012
Quick, easy and tasty. Everyone ate this and had seconds. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2011
Really good comfort meal on for a winter night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Corned Beef Hash

See how to make a simple, top-rated corned beef hash.

How to Make Corned Beef Hash

See how to make corned beef hash with the perfect crispy crust.

Hash Brown and Egg Casserole

This hearty casserole is meaty, cheesy, and so delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States