Chuck Wagon Hash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 8, 2011
Not bad, was looking for a way to use up the canned goods in my pantry as well as ground beef in my freezer, as i have been cooking more healthfully lately. This was not healthy, but tasted alright, reltavively bland, added extra red pepper flakes, also used fresh garlic rather than garlic powder. It fit the bill as a quick meal, using up my ingredients. Would make it again if i was in the same situation, but definitely would not plan this as a meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2010
This was way better than I expected! I made it just because I had a pound of ground beef I wanted to use up and needed a quick dinner. I would have given it 5 stars, but I think it was just a little bland - needed some salt and pepper and maybe a little heavier on the oregano and parsley.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mother Ann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Streetsboro, Ohio, USA
Living In: Ravenna, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
We absolutely loved this, it is easy and very tasty. 5 stars defintely. I ended up not using all the rice in it, ( I think about 1/2 cup of the cooked rice was left over.) and since my husband wont eat anything with mushrooms in it, so I used cream of chicken soup instead. It turned out perfect. Thank you for sharing this Dog Lovin' Mama, as this week you have made my dinner menu much easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by breezyauzette

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: The Dalles, Oregon, USA
Living In: Ocean Shores, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
My husband and I loved this recipe. I used half the oregano called for because neither of us are huge fans of the taste. Next time (and there will definitely be a next time) I will also cut the red pepper in half since it was a little spicy for my kids. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2009
I cooked the onion with the beef; I added the seasonings to the beef and onion while cooking...I did add a little salt...wasn't enough in my opinion. Next time I'll change the garlic powder to garlic salt. I used a 14oz. can of Green Beans, 1+ C of shredded Monterrey Jack, which I think went well with the dish. I will increase the cayenne pepper flakes to 1 t. and maybe use Pepper Jack cheese instead. I liked eating it as a dip with Tostitos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2008
I didn't have the cream of mushroom soup, so I took another cook's suggestion and used a can of creamed corn. I also used a full cup of beef broth to make up for "lost liquid" and used hash browns instead of rice (be sure to brown the hash browns good if you are going to use them - I only cooked them until they just started to turn brown). It needed a pinch more salt, but my whole family enjoyed it - all 6 of us! My husband added Texas Pete to it for his taste and I also added green jalapeno sauce to mine. This one is definately a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
I love this recipe. I use brown rice and I usually double the recipe so that I have plenty for leftovers. It is addictive!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
This is pretty good, but I'm kinda done with "canned soup" cassaroles. Tastes better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2007
This was okay for a quick, cheap dinner. You really do need the beef broth to add some saltiness and to keep the dish from being dried out. I used creamed corn and next time I will leave out the oregano - too strong and the flavor does not go well with the other ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2007
Only thing I would add would be a little bit of salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie Bader

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Corned Beef Hash

See how to make corned beef hash with the perfect crispy crust.

Corned Beef Hash

See how to make a simple, top-rated corned beef hash.

Hash Brown and Egg Casserole

This hearty casserole is meaty, cheesy, and so delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States