Chuck Wagon Hash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
This recipe was pretty good. I added one cup of wild rice as well as the regular rice. I did not have beef broth, so I a half a can of Campbell's french onion cooking soup. I also only used half the amount of red pepper flakes, or I knew my kids wouldn't dig it. It turned out to be pretty tasty. Easy to throw together and 2 out of 3 kids approved. The one that did not, does not like cheese...so it was pretty much to be expected. =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
Made this last night and it was great. I added diced cooked potatoes to it because we had leftovers. Because of the potatoes, I added another can of soup. My hubby asked for seconds and that is saying a lot. The spices are just perfect for the recipe. Will make this a go to recipe when I want something simple and tasty. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
I made this tonight for dinner. I used Italian seasoning as another person suggested. I skipped the red pepper flakes. I don't use cream soups (hubby is allergic to the MSG in them) so I substituted a quart of homemade brown gravy and a can of mushroom pieces for it. I used 2 cans of corn & added 1 can of black beans for extra color. I used hash browns instead of rice, and when I went to put it into the pan, I realized I'd forgotten to cook the onions with the burger. So I put half the mixture into my 13x9 pan, then sprinkled it with the chopped onions, mushrooms, and 1 cup cheese, then put rest of mixture on top, cooked it at 400 degrees F (am at about 7000 altitude) for 25 minutes, put another layer of cheese down, cooked another 5 minutes til cheese is melted, then fed it to my family. We are 7, and between hubby & 2 older boys, that size pan empties FAST. It is a bit bland but we keep salt & pepper on the table for everyone to make it taste as they want it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mount Pleasant, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2013
Not a fan. I read reviews and understood the recipe needs seasoning. I added 1/2 tsp each of oregano and parsley, and added Ortega chilies. Nothing helped. Now in stuck with all the leftovers. Recipe says 4 servings, more like 7 or 8.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2012
Yum!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by newwife07

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2012
Quick, easy and tasty. Everyone ate this and had seconds. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2011
Really good comfort meal on for a winter night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
While this dish isn't the prettiest to look at, it is delicious. It's quick and easy to make. The only things I did different is to use fresh garlic and fresh corn off the cob which I cooked before adding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PaulaB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
Great starter recipe... I exchanged corn for green beans and added 5 fiery pepper seasoning for the red pepper. I used roasted minced garlic instead of powder and I also used dried chopped onion instead of real onion(I can't take the onion texture). A little italian seasoning took care of the too much or too little oregano. I only had a tiny bit of cheddar so i used what I had and added a little Gouda. Yummo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Linda Farrell
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
Not terrible but not great either. I used "homemade chicken broth" from this site in place of the beef broth. I always use brown rice. I upped the garlic powder and decreased the oregano (our personal preference). Next time, I'll toss in some green pepper (or red) and replace the cheddar cheese with velveeta. There is real potential here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Farrell

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Arnold, Missouri, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Corned Beef Hash

See how to make corned beef hash with the perfect crispy crust.

Hash Brown and Egg Casserole

This hearty casserole is meaty, cheesy, and so delicious.

Cheesy Ham and Hash Brown Casserole

This casserole is everything you love about breakfast in one dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States