Christy's Pork Chops Normandy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
Thumbs up from the whole family! I didn't have brandy so took another's advice and used schnapps that I had on hand. Mine was butterscotch. I also doubled the cider vinegar and cream, my guys like extra sauce. They also don't go for mushrooms so I used three apples and they gobbled it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2014
I jazz the sauce up, added about 2 Oz flour to the mushroom sauce and add 1/2 cup more of half and half with 1/4 cup of brandy, put slice apple of the meat and poured the mushroom sauce over the meat, baked a 325 oven for 45 mins covered with foil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by frankaff

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
Delish!! I was too cheap to buy brandy (in WA we have insane alcohol taxes)but had peach Schnapp's in the freezer and used that. It was sweet but very good!! I can see how the brandy would give it a deeper richness to the gravy but the Schnapp's worked pretty good, too. I especially liked the pyro effect!! I'd never put a flame to anything I'd cooked, so this was a ton of fun!! The chops were tender, as well. This is a def winner in my kitchen and will be made again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SousSusieQ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: May 25, 2010
MADE THIS RECIPE FOR SOME FRIENDS COULDN'T BELIEVE I MADE IT HOME THOUGHT I HAD IT DELIVERED FROM CATERER MADE SLIGHT CHANGE INSTEAD OF REGULAR BRANDY USED APPLEJACK BRANDY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2009
This was good. The mix of the cider, brandy, and pork was different and offered a unique taste. I added rosemary and basil to add a more full-bodied flavor. I also added 1/2 cup of applesauce to increase the apple flavor. My family liked it and I do believe we will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2009
Nice taste enjoyed by both my wife and I
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rickyt51

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
This was wonderful! My husband made this for me and it was one of the best meals we've ever had. It had an amazing flavor that we couldn't get enough of! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2007
edited: This is a nice, easy dish to prepare. The chops were incredibly moist & tender & the sauce was pleasant. Browning the chops in butter was an excellent way to boost flavor, but to ensure they were well-done, I put the oven higher to 350 so they could finish there while the sauce was prepared; they were perfect. I omitted the brandy. The mushroom & apple flavors were weak. Overall, the sauce was less flavored than I had expected, the mushrooms & apple flavors were obscured. A calvados instead of any old brandy might help boost the apple flavor. I also used unsalted butter, & a generous pinch of kosher salt helped boost the flavor. Some fresh parsley would probably be a good addition. I made this again, curdling problem not repeated. It still needs a strong boost of apple flavor, though. I increased the cider and reduced it to about a quarter. I made up the difference in the liquid by adding more cider; I reduced it again to about half per the original recipe. I didn't want to use something heavy & risk diluting the apple flavor, so I warmed some whole milk in the microwave instead of cream (about 1/8 cup, maybe a little more, but under 1/4 cup) & whisked it in slowly. Next time, I'll try adding some calvados & see what that gets me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Somerset, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pork Chops with Apples

Learn how to make delicious pork chops with sweet potatoes and sauteed apples.

Molasses-Brined Pork Chops

See how to make a quick brine for juicy, juicy pork chops.

How to Make Easy Pan-Fried Pork Chops

See how to make a classic pan-fried pork chop dish in three easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States