Christy's Awesome Hot Ham and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
This is a really good sandwich. I like to add sliced pickles and tomatoes to mine. And yes, GREAT with homemade tomato soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2010
Yum! Great sandwich! I love swiss cheese so I had to try this. I used light mayo and smoked ham. As the submitter states, this is very good with tomato soup. I'm a huge fan of "Rachel's Tomato Basil Soup" from this site. I make batches of it and freeze it. I thawed some and these go perfect together. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2010
I make these same sandwich sometimes too and it's very good. You really can't go wrong with these ingredients. Whole grain mustard is a must in my opinion. Sometimes I use honey mustard and pepper jack cheese, which is also really good, gives it a little heat and sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jaay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Diane Boggs Colbert
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2010
I made these sandwiches for our lunch today and they were awesome!!! The only things I did different was I added a tomato and used white bread. I also made baKed french fries I from this site. It was a terrific lunch. Thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane Boggs Colbert

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aston, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Winter Haven, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2010
My boyfriend loves these! I'm not that big on mayo, but he doesn't mind it. I have made them using the walmart brand southwest sauce in place of the dijon mustard. Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandak23k

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
made this tonight for dinner with thinly sliced heirloom tomatoes with a bit of S&P on them. just used a bit of light mayo on mine and dijon mustard and light mayo on my hubby's. I used organic light rye bread, and served with organic tomato soup from a box. We both loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2010
Different cheeses work too. I like to quickly saute the ham before it goes on the sammie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hokker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2010
Great blend of flavors and terrific sandwich that is quick to make and comfort food satisfying! Awesome is right!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOYKENNEL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Terre Haute, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2010
We tried these with the mayo (no mustard on them) and didn't really care for the mayo flavor on it. I did however make them again without the mayo and they were delish! Just a matter of preference but still 5 star worthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elkhart, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
Do you want to make it even more yummy? For this recipe I prefer Iberico ham, you might find it also as jamon iberico. I know it is expensive but the trick is to buy the foreleg called shoulder or paleta rather than the ham (backleg). Paleta or shoulder is much cheaper and for sandwiches, pittas, rolls and “hand food” a wonderful alternative. I buy my iberico ham at Buyjamon.com BuyJamon.com the market place for iberico ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hot Ham and Cheese Sandwiches

Hot ham and Swiss sandwiches with a tangy horseradish mustard dressing.

Easy Ham and Cheese Appetizer Sandwiches

Ham and melted Swiss combine with a tangy spread on soft party rolls.

Awesome Grilled Cheese Sandwiches

See an amazing method for making “grilled” cheese sandwiches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States