Christmas Wreaths Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
My Grandmother used to make these every Christmas! In fact, it just wasn't Christmas without them (or church window cookies, and her fudge). Now, it's up to me to carry on her tradition but mine didn't turn out quite as pretty.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by Krista
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
Quick and easy. I was scared at first that the cornflakes would not stick but it was no problem. I used mini smarties to have a colourful look.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Krista

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
These were good and pretty easy to make. I used Rice Krispies cereal because that's what I had and it worked fine. I followed the advice from another reviewer and wet my fingers with water instead of oil or butter, and it worked perfectly. I had no problems with the mixture cooling too quickly and was able to make cute little wreaths without much trouble. Instead of red hots, I sprinkled the warm wreaths with cinnamon-flavored red sugar crystals and they looked and tasted great. It gave it just a hint of cinnamon without the spiciness of biting into a red hot candy. The only thing I didn't love was that the food coloring did turn my teeth and tongue a little green, even though I used a little less than the recipe called for. Otherwise, a cute, colorful addition to my Christmas goodie plates.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
These are REALLY good, I love them! They are especially good if you use almond extract in place of vanilla. I never use the cinnamon candies either, but when I take them to a potluck this year, I may try using the nonpareils as another reader suggested
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
I use six to 10 more marshmallows and skip the vanilla. Instead I use 1 teaspoon of lemon extract. It gives them a unique subtle lemon taste that is not at all overpowering. My mom made them that way. Also, I don't bother trying to shape them into wreaths. It's easier to just drop them by the spoonful. They still look great- like holly bunches. You can also use red M&M's if you don't like red hots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2009
Hard to shape into wreaths, but they are cute when you do. Wet your hands with water and let the marshmallow cool a bit before attempting to form them. Very impressive as part of a gift cookie pack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SERENES

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marquette, Michigan, USA
Living In: Ferndale, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2009
I just did these in mounds. I didn't think they were THAT great, but they went over pretty well with others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2009
Did not turn out at all, the green turned into a crayon-green, and it never set right. Not a fan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2009
Mine looked good, but turned out a disaster - I probably did something wrong somewhere, they wouldn't lift off the wax paper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
I gave this four stars because I can never get my wreaths to be as vibrant green as I would like. These are very good, but a lot of work. A shortcut for molding the wreaths is to drop a ball of the mixture onto wax paper and take the end of a plastic spoon, stick it in the middle to make a hole, then spin it around to make the wreath.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Domestic DIY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 138) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Christmas Wreaths

These charming Christmas wreaths are festive and tasty.

Soft Christmas Cookies

Buttery sugar cookies perfect for the holidays or any occasion.

Christmas Fruitcake

This light, delicious fruitcake features dried, not candied, fruit.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States