Christmas Wreaths Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
you can't go wrong with this recipe. it is widely known everywhere. i've seen some with almond extract and that is just weird to me. and i don't use red hots anymore because my husband just picks them off for me to eat anyway. one year when i did use them my dog got into the bag when we were gone and we came back to a pink eared golden retriever. so no more red hots!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danbury, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Plumtree, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
So delicious I loved them for sure, and even more sure that my guests will love them just as much as I do. Thanks for the wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarasota

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
My Grandmother used to make these every Christmas! In fact, it just wasn't Christmas without them (or church window cookies, and her fudge). Now, it's up to me to carry on her tradition but mine didn't turn out quite as pretty.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by Krista
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
Quick and easy. I was scared at first that the cornflakes would not stick but it was no problem. I used mini smarties to have a colourful look.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Krista

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
These were good and pretty easy to make. I used Rice Krispies cereal because that's what I had and it worked fine. I followed the advice from another reviewer and wet my fingers with water instead of oil or butter, and it worked perfectly. I had no problems with the mixture cooling too quickly and was able to make cute little wreaths without much trouble. Instead of red hots, I sprinkled the warm wreaths with cinnamon-flavored red sugar crystals and they looked and tasted great. It gave it just a hint of cinnamon without the spiciness of biting into a red hot candy. The only thing I didn't love was that the food coloring did turn my teeth and tongue a little green, even though I used a little less than the recipe called for. Otherwise, a cute, colorful addition to my Christmas goodie plates.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
These are REALLY good, I love them! They are especially good if you use almond extract in place of vanilla. I never use the cinnamon candies either, but when I take them to a potluck this year, I may try using the nonpareils as another reader suggested
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
I use six to 10 more marshmallows and skip the vanilla. Instead I use 1 teaspoon of lemon extract. It gives them a unique subtle lemon taste that is not at all overpowering. My mom made them that way. Also, I don't bother trying to shape them into wreaths. It's easier to just drop them by the spoonful. They still look great- like holly bunches. You can also use red M&M's if you don't like red hots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2009
Hard to shape into wreaths, but they are cute when you do. Wet your hands with water and let the marshmallow cool a bit before attempting to form them. Very impressive as part of a gift cookie pack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SERENES

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marquette, Michigan, USA
Living In: Ferndale, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2009
I just did these in mounds. I didn't think they were THAT great, but they went over pretty well with others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2009
Did not turn out at all, the green turned into a crayon-green, and it never set right. Not a fan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 140) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Christmas Wreaths

These charming Christmas wreaths are festive and tasty.

Soft Christmas Cookies

Buttery sugar cookies perfect for the holidays or any occasion.

Christmas Fruitcake

This light, delicious fruitcake features dried, not candied, fruit.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States