Christmas Wreaths Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2007
I came across this recipe by accident as I was browsing the site. I have been making these treats for over 40 years (got the recipe from a lady I used to babysit for) and not until now did I realize how popular they must be! With slight variations in measurements my recipe is the same except I also add 1/2 tsp of almond extract. I have never had a problem working with them as I have always been lucky enough to find another set of hands to put the red hots on while I drop the sticky mixture onto waxed paper! (Buttered hands really help!) They are a pretty and colorful addition to any Christmas cookie plate. I'ver never known anyone who didn't like these and all these years later my own kids, now 26 and 28, ask for reassurance every year that I'll be making them when they come home for Christmas. An easy, delicious and very sentimental Christmas tradition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2003
I'm not a huge fan of marshmellowy things but I'm giving them five starts because they are SO adorable!! When I first read the recipe I thought it would take forever, but it only took about 30-45 minutes from start to finish. I used rice crispies for the cereal, and to decorate I used colored sprinkles and cherry chips. I used pull & peel cherry licorice for the bows, it seemed to be the perfect length, and I was amazed at how it sticks to itself - when you shape a bow you don't have to 'tie' it - just press it between your fingers for a few seconds and it stays!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2002
Things I learned about these cookies from making them: *you can wet your fingers with water instead of butter/oil when shaping them *I had a tough time getting them to really harden and hold their shape...make double sure that your wax paper is on the correct side and wait awhile before moving them. *I used multi-color nonpariels instead of cinnamon dots (personal preference, but I don't care for that much cinnamon candy crunch in my cookies) *Plan to work fast...they become stickier as time passes *If you want to make it even more child-friendly, I suspect you could melt the butter and marshmellows in the microwave , though I didn't try it this way. *Good tasting...similar to rice krispy treats for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2006
My family loves this recipe. It is messy, and I could never manage making the little wreaths. My solution was to make one large wreath and decorate it with the candies. We just slice pieces off it when we want to eat it. It can be the centerpiece of the dessert table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2003
I first made these in the 3rd grade with my classmates - our teacher taught us how to make them. I've made them for many Christmases since! You can also make one big wreath, or mix in the cinnimon candies, and drop spoonfuls on the waxed paper to make "holly bushes". Also, you can also keep the mixture warm in a slow cooker while you're shaping the wreaths.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane Blanchard Angell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mason City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2006
I remember these...my mother used to make them when I was a kid. We always loved them and they add a lot of color to a cookie plate. I recommend to butter your hands when forming the wreaths and lay on a greased sheet of waxed paper until they have had a chance to set and cool. Also, they are easy to form into wreaths but you need to hurry. If they have a chance to cool they will be impossible. The best way I have found is to spoon a glob onto the waxed paper and use your fingers form a wreath by pulling from the middle out, kind of hard to explain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2005
I've been making these for over 20 years (minus the vanilla), and I think I've made them every Christmas. I love them, my daughter loves them and so do my co-workers. :-) I don't shape them as wreaths either, just holly "lumps". :P They are still very festive when decorated with the candies. I put them on wax paper that is sprayed with cooking spray, that always seems to work best to avoid a mess. I use a whole bag of miniature marshmallows and just add corn flakes until the mixture is coated and there is a good ratio of flakes to the goo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Woodbridge, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
My Grandmother used to make these every Christmas! In fact, it just wasn't Christmas without them (or church window cookies, and her fudge). Now, it's up to me to carry on her tradition but mine didn't turn out quite as pretty.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2005
I made these for our church's tree decorating party last night after a week of baking cookies out the wazoo! These were a beautiful addition and very tasty. I added a little almond extract too, for a little more flavor, but got to thinking you could add peppermint extract or even anise. ( Helps to bring the flavors of the season out, ya know?) Work QUICKLY when adding the cornflakes and coating them! I added a touch of white decorating crystals on the tops along with the cinnamon candies. Oh yeah, remember to butter your hands when shaping them in wreaths!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leslie Eickhoff-Davis

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Curtis, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2000
I've been doing a form of this one for years - it is basically Rice Krispie treats, but you use corn flakes. It sounds strange, but they turn out VERY cute, and they taste GREAT! I usually use only vanilla flavoring in mine by personal preference. They really add a wonderful touch to cookie trays as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 134) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Christmas Wreaths

These charming Christmas wreaths are festive and tasty.

Christmas Fruitcake

This light, delicious fruitcake features dried, not candied, fruit.

Chef John’s Christmas Miracle Fudge

See how to make rich, amazing fudge with no dairy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States