Christmas Wreaths Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by Kari
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
Worked even without the cornflakes. I used Kix cereal and added a red licorice bow. Fun!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kari

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Leesburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
I wanted a more interesting taste, so I split the vanilla with almond extract. Peppermint would also be great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by winebard
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
one of the hardest "easy" cookies on my list this year. i used half of the food coloring and still was a ridiculous shade, so i added red and blue to make it a more realistic evergreen color. also 30 marshmallows and a stick of butter made a strange liquid so i dumped the rest of the bag in the pot, about 12-13. next time i'll use rice krispies as i find them easier to work with. overall thoroughly frustrating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by meghansmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cato, New York, USA
Living In: Camillus, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
I am so excited to have found this recipe! When I was little, I used to go over to my friend's house & make these with her mom. I thought they were the coolest thing because they were green cookies...ah the simple pleasures of life. Thanks for posting this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
These are so good! I couldn't stop eating them! I used half corn flakes and half rice krispies which gave them a lighter texture! I also just wet my fingers and they stayed sticky long enough to make these by myself and form them easily. They have a great buttery vanilla flavor and they are just so cute! Will make these every Christmas for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Morrice, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
I have been making these for years. All kinds of yumminess. I add 1/2 tsp of almond extract as well. yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbus, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Teresa
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
I recommend 3 c. of mini marshmallows instead of 30 large ones -- they are easier to measure and melt better. Also, the gel icing color manufactured by Wilton is far superior to food coloring. It produces much better color results. You can also do 1/2 t. vanilla and 1/2 t. almond extract for a different flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
I LOVED making these as a kid with my mom..now it's my turn to make them! I don't like the cinnamon candies so I replaced those with the pull apart licorice that I tie into a bow. On some I add mini m&m's for some color! These do take some work, but it's worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
I make a style of these every year. My mom made them for my birthday and they just followed me through my life :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lovelyfamilyofmine

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Living In: Pocatello, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
Whether you are a fan of marshmallow treats or not, these cookies bring ooh’s and ah’s from both adults and kids. On top of which, they look absolutely great on a Christmas cookie tray. One learns quickly, if they want to mess with trying to make wreaths with a hole in the middle. After messing with this 1st cookie for about 30 seconds, I changed my methodology to putting globs of the green mixture down, and it worked great. In my opinion, and in the opinion of the “consumers”, they looked very “holidayish”. My frosted sugar cookies and almond roca appeared just so-so, but with these marshmallow treats on top of my holiday tray, it looked great. As other reviewers suggest, you need to work quickly when putting the red M&M’s on the wreaths because the marshmallow and corn flake mixture will harden enough that the candies may be reluctant to stick on top if not done within 3 to 5 minutes of being placed on the tray. The method I used to lay the sticky wreath globs down was to wear latex gloves covered with melted butter. Another hint that I used from previous readers is to use parchment paper; works fine. Only difficulty I had was to get the wreath mixture to adequately harden. I finally placed them in a cool place and they hardened adequately. Bottom line; the consumers (both kids and adults) made a point to say the wreaths tasted really good. They will be on top of my Christmas trays in future years again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 134) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Christmas Wreaths

These charming Christmas wreaths are festive and tasty.

Christmas Fruitcake

This light, delicious fruitcake features dried, not candied, fruit.

Chef John’s Christmas Miracle Fudge

See how to make rich, amazing fudge with no dairy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States