Christmas Wreaths Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2006
These are just as I remember them from when I was a kid! A couple things that helped: I kept the pan on a very low heat as I made the wreaths. This kept the mixture easy to work with. Also, I used non-stick spray on a couple fingers of the hand I used to shape them. That really helped!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2006
I love this. I have made this with my mom since I was really little, and this is my first year married and my brother and I both called for the recipe. We love making these. They are so easy to make, even for kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2006
We have been making these for over 35 years. all I can tell people, is that if it comes out to where they are too gooey, or too hard - then you didn't do it right. Try playing with the recipe if it dosen't work perfectly. The cooking time plays a HUGE part in this - remember - marshmallows are SUGAR nad if you cook it too long, it will basically "candy" and they will be too hard. If you put in too much butter or marshmallows they become gooey, and are hard to shape. I can pretty much eyeball what's right, so I can't offer any tips there. All I know is that I make them for my christmas baskets - and that's the first thing anyone has ever requested - "are you going to make those wreaths again this year?" I'm going to make some in about 10 minutes and the kids and husband are hovering around me like flies - waiting for the finished product! LOL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2006
My family loves this recipe. It is messy, and I could never manage making the little wreaths. My solution was to make one large wreath and decorate it with the candies. We just slice pieces off it when we want to eat it. It can be the centerpiece of the dessert table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2006
I have always loved this recipe and lost it in a move. I am so glad to find it here! I agree with another reviewer who stated to add corn flakes as needed to avoid a mess and to spray wax paper with a non stick cooking spray. Thanks for a great holiday favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ForceOfNature

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2006
I remember these...my mother used to make them when I was a kid. We always loved them and they add a lot of color to a cookie plate. I recommend to butter your hands when forming the wreaths and lay on a greased sheet of waxed paper until they have had a chance to set and cool. Also, they are easy to form into wreaths but you need to hurry. If they have a chance to cool they will be impossible. The best way I have found is to spoon a glob onto the waxed paper and use your fingers form a wreath by pulling from the middle out, kind of hard to explain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2006
My mom loved these and wants me to make them again for her friends this year. I used mini red m&ms instead of red hots, just because I'm not a particular red hot loved. They turned out so so cute, and tasted delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHOP GIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2006
I have had something similar to these before and was looking for that recipie- this isn't it! Taste wasn't bad, but way too gooey and very hard to form into wreaths. A waste of time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newton, Iowa, USA
Living In: Spencer, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2006
I didn't actually make this exact recipe, but my family makes these treats every Christmas. They are WONDERFUL! They are a staple on the Holiday platters we hand out, and everyone tells us how they look forward to the annual Xmas Wreaths. They may be hard to shape, but they are blissfully good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2006
These are fun to make and very festive. I will make this every year around the Christmas season.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 140) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Christmas Wreaths

These charming Christmas wreaths are festive and tasty.

Soft Christmas Cookies

Buttery sugar cookies perfect for the holidays or any occasion.

Christmas Fruitcake

This light, delicious fruitcake features dried, not candied, fruit.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States