Christmas Wreath Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
This recipe is exactly the recipe my grandmother made.The only change I make is substituting pecans for walnuts and adding a 1/2 tsp of mace. I also only bake it for 1 h 45mins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
delicious! Even a non-fruitcake eater would like this. I agree that this is best after it has set a day or two to make it moist. I subbed the lemon with an orange instead. added the zest of one orange and 2 tsp juice. The butter really makes it so good. I toasted the nuts first for a nicer level of flavor. I don't think the parchment is necessary and wouldn't bother to use it again. Made this in 2 bread tins to give away and had 1 small mini loaf for myself:) the batter is more like dough but easy to work with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: King Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
I am NOT a cook having to learn after my wife's death. But this recipe was easy to follow and it was FANTASTIC. It tasted like the fruit cake I have always eaten growing up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
The best easy fruitcake recipe. Last year I had to make this cake three times before Christmas because we love it so much. I've already today baked one today as my hubby requested it for Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRUDY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Naples, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by josie
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
This is the first fruit cake I have ever made...it is wonderful! Very simple, and simply delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
Used whole wheat flour and added 1/2 cup of milk. Simply amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anoushka

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2001
This is the first fruit cake that I have ever baked. I know it is not Christmas, but I love fruit cake and this was the only recipe that I could find that did not have brandy or rum in it and it is the best. I can't stop eating it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2001
I tried this fruitcake in the last minute before Xmas. I substituted the sugar with rum-flavoured brown sugar and the result was fantastic. I baked two loaves and they disappeared within a day! Thank you for this easy and tasty recipe! Niki from Hungary
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2012
My whole family loved it. I added a bit milk and chopped prunes. Thank you for sharing the recipe ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
This cake is really yummy! Couple things, though. . .I used orange zest and juice cuz I like a sweet cake, not too sharply citrus. (Does that make sense?) But the biggest thing is 2 hours is WAY too long to bake!! I baked mine 1 hour and 20 minutes. The toothpick was clean so I took it out. It was totally done. I will actually check it a little sooner than 80 minutes next time. If you baked this for 2 hours, you will have a dry crumbly mess. Don't hesitate to try this recipe, especially for Christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

How to Make Angel Food Cake

Watch how to make this decadent-tasting but actually fat-free cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States