Christmas Walnut Toffee Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2003
John-These were very easy to make and sooo good. I didn't see where the water was to be added on the directions so I added that in when I added the sugar and corn syrup - I believe that was correct. Thanks again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2005
Recipe doesn't mention the water so that went in with the sugar and syrup. Forgot to put the walnuts in, but still turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2002
Excellent recipe. Easy to make and tastes wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2006
I had the same problem! Even made it twice, brought the 1st batch to 290 & the 2nd got to 300 - had to throw both away... It is the 1st time I am making toffee with white sugar - don't know if that is giving me the problem or not, but going back to my brown sugar recipe... so disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northbrook, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2006
This was good even without the extra smearing of chocolate and nuts on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by traveltiff

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Tehachapi, California, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2005
My mother used to have this recipe (or one like it) and it was so easy and so good. I went looking for a similar recipe and found this one. It came out just the way I remember it. A lot easier than most candy making and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flint, Michigan, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2008
Very nice recipe, but it does take some experience to make this type of candy, If you are inexperienced like GAMSJAGER you may want to try making something for the simple such as the pudding poke cake that you rave about- bleh. Thank you for posting this one, it looks lovely as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CYNDY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2007
I had never made toffee before, but had decided to send candy to relatives this year. This was very easy and tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2006
I don't know what went wrong, but this turned out to be a dish full of sugary pebbles. I couldn't even remove it from the dish, or it would have disintegrated into a mound of gravel. And yes, I followed the directions meticulously (even though what to do with the water was not mentioned at all, I did as others suggested and added it with the sugar and corn syrup). I've made plenty of candies, including toffees, but this was a nightmare. I have to wonder, why so few reviews on such an old recipe? Is it simply because those who had the same disastrous outcome as myself didn't bother to come back to warn others?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2005
Brought this to work and everyone wanted the recipe. Ended up making 2 more batches!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Toffee Ever - Super Easy

See how to make rich toffee with chocolate and nuts.

Chef John’s Christmas Miracle Fudge

See how to make rich, amazing fudge with no dairy.

Saltine Toffee Cookies

These easy cookies make a great snack or holiday gift.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States