Christmas Turtle Candies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
Great recipie, but I didnt follow the directions based on other reviews. I tried like many suggested to just melt the carmel in the microwave but it was way too runny to make attractive candies. I put the carmels in a bowl and put just a little bit of milk in (just enough to cover the bottom of the bowl). I microwaved the carmels until they were very soft but not totally melted. I took the carmels in my hand, used a little bit of the milk and formed it to the pecans. This made a really good shape and texture. It was really hot working with though so be careful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
MMM I love turtles-I flattened Kraft caramels with a rolling pin. Put a dot of butterscotch ice cream sauce on the caramel. Top with a few slivered almonds and 1 pecan. Then roll the caramel around the filling and dip in chocolate
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
I have an identical recipe I've made for years. They are very good, and very popular with one additional note: "Serve at Room Temperature" - rock-hard candy problem solved!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
READ REVIEWS BEFORE STARTING!! Good concept but I ended up with rock hard candy. I plan to try again, this time melting caramels on the stove with a bit a milk. Wish me luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
I combined reviews to keep the caramel from becoming too hard. These tasted great, but I had a problem with the chocolate. As soon as it was touched it completely melted everywhere and it was a big mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tayls

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Norfolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
I had a time with these to the point I just wanted to trash it all, but I didn't. Here's what I did: I melted a bag of Kraft Traditional Caramels with about 2 or 3 tbsp of milk. I filled a big pan with water and heated it and then used a smaller pan to sit in the water to melt the caramels. Like a double boiler. I then added crushed pecans and mixed. I dropped spoonfuls of the mixture on a baking sheet with wax paper. This was a no no because the caramel stuck to the wax. It took FOREVER to peel the stuff off. I did chill it first but it didn't help. After I finally got them off I dipped them in chocolate and stuck them in the refrigerator. I got them out the next morning and they were like chocolate covered bricks!! BUT I let them sit out for maybe ten minutes or so and they were fine. Nice and chewy and easy to bit. All in all I guess it was worth it because they were good but find something better to spoon them out on. Good Luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by javaflops

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by House of Aqua
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
Not sure if this counts, but I used the recipe, but I made mine differently so that is why I rated it 4-stars, I think their technique is off. I squeezed a half dollar of chocolate on wax paper and set 3-4 pecan halves in the chocolate. Once dry, I melted caramel and when it was still tacky, I made a quarter sized amount of pressed onto the pecans and then I melted more milk chocolate and spooned over the top. It is an easier way without risking the candy in an oven which seems to me making them hard. To those who find their chocolate is melting when touched, your chocolate is not tempered. You need to temper your chocolate to prevent that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by House of Aqua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2008
This recipe is really yummy but it's much more difficult than I anticipated. Don't overcook or caramels will become too hard. Caramels melt better if they are flattened before placing into the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Johns, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2007
Um, these are pretty good and dreadfully easy to make, but the caramel doesn't taste authentically turtle like. However, short of making your own caramel, I don't know how else to get it to taste right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2007
I agree with other reviews, these did taste good, but were incredibly hard to chew. I think the preparation was fairly easy, I just wish they would've turned out a little better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tonit

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Longmont, Colorado, USA
Living In: Brighton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Snappy Turtle Cookies

These fun chocolate-frosted cookies look just like turtles!

Chef John’s Christmas Miracle Fudge

See how to make rich, amazing fudge with no dairy.

Christmas Fruitcake

This light, delicious fruitcake features dried, not candied, fruit.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States