Christmas Turtle Candies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
You can also make these in the microwave. It takes just a few seconds. I don't wait for these to melt. I let them heat up enough to push down on the pecans, cool down then dip in melted chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
kids and I made them for wifes Christmas gift and she loved them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
Tastes great, but hard to eat! Looks impressive as a homemade gift or part of your holiday cookie tray. I made the first batch just as the recipe reads, but the caramel ended up rock hard. I even lowered the oven temp to 250. Then I read some of the other reviews..... For the second batch, I microwaved the caramels with a tbsp of milk. Once melted, I stirred in some chopped pecans and dropped by spoonfuls onto waxed paper then I coated them in chocolate. After chilling, they looked great, except the caramel was so sticky, I couldn't peel it off the paper!! Finaly, after some time in the freezer, the caramel hardened up enough to peel the candy off the paper. I would make these again, but be sure to coat your waxed paper or foil with plenty of cooking spray to keep the candy from sticking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
Like others I wish I'd read the comments first! I'm throwing this rock hard mess in the trash and using another's suggestion of melting the caramel in the microwave. With the price of pecans I'm just glad I didn't make a bigger batch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
These are absolutly amazing! I made a couple batches of these for a party and everyone LOVED them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
Tasted awsome, but carmel became very hard. Wish I would've read previous reviews first and changed how I melted the carmel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
I did as other reviewers suggested and melted the caramel. Turned out very good. Everybody loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Canton, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
My daughter and I are making this recipe for Christmas gifts. We did the recipe just as it was given but also found the cooking time made the carmel too hard. So we took 1/2 carmel, rolled it kind of thin then rolled a pecan in it. We cooked it at 250 degrees for 7 minutes. Then we dipped it in chocolate chips which were melted with a small amount of parafin wax. It hardened the chocolate just right and the taste of a roasted pecan came through beautifully. Thanks for the recipe and thanks to all the comments, we have a perfect holiday gift.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
These failed for me TWICE. I thought I cooked/melted the caramel a minute too long the first time, so I tried again. Second time i watched very closely and the caramel was still way too chewy/hard. And, the chocolate never really set up well. The next day, they still melted to your fingers. I think I would add some wax or something. I am looking for a better recipe. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by somethingdifferentagain?!
Home Town: Pleasant Ridge, Michigan, USA
Living In: Gaylord, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
I think I will try these again.... I lowered the oven temp and cooked just until the caramels were barely melted, but they were still rock hard. If I make them a second time, I think I will follow reviewers suggestions of using the kraft soft caramels instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bakeaholic

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Conway, Arkansas, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Snappy Turtle Cookies

These fun chocolate-frosted cookies look just like turtles!

Chef John’s Christmas Miracle Fudge

See how to make rich, amazing fudge with no dairy.

Clone of a Cracker Jack®

See how to make your own delicious peanutty, caramel-covered popcorn.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States