Christmas Turtle Candies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2014
This recipe appears in a Gooseberry Patch cookbook I have. After producing "turtle bricks" I went online to discover what I did wrong and found this exact recipe duplicated here along with similar complaints. I wish I would have visited the review page first! I, too, had problems with the Kraft caramels failing to melt in the specified time at 300 degrees, and when they did melt after placing them back in the oven they did so suddenly and immediately hardened as others have reported. Nobody else seems to have had the problem I had with the chocolate, though. I used semi-sweet chocolate chips as called for in the recipe and it took almost 10 minutes to melt them with just 1.5tsp of shortening, and it was far too thick at that. Now it could be that my substitution of butter for shortening produced the hard-to-melt chocolate problem; however, the recipe contains no "do not substitute" warnings (perhaps it should?). I also used Ghiradelli's semi-sweet chocolate chips, when I suspect milk chocolate chips would have made for a smoother melt and easier spoon-on experience. (Ghiradelli's chips are higher in cocoa and "dry", even by semi-sweet standards.) Before I could spoon the chocolate onto even half a batch worth of pecan/caramels, it had begun to clump up and stick to the spoon like glue. I'm NOT happy. If I repeat this recipe, I would melt the caramels with a bit of milk in the microwave or on the stove AND I would add in milk chocolate chips for a creamier, smoother melt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2014
For all of you with caramel problems thy to put Rolos on the nut you will have perfect caramel and some choc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carlene Dale

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2014
I made these just as recipe stated (I thought). You only put them in the oven until they get SOFT - NOT MELTED. That is what's wrong with the directions. I did it this way without realizing that it had said melted. I had no problems with hard carmel. You just want it soft enough so that you can press it into the nuts to hold it together. I used Kraft caramels. I make this every year and I have used dark chocolate chips and it's delicious (maybe better). I'm not sure about others melting the caramel..think this would take more time to harden and they already take quite awhile on the preparation-I'd estimate at least 45 minutes or more...I also didn't toast the nuts first, but I might try that next time since it usually enhances the flavor of the nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lorrie Schumacher

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Covington, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Weeki Wachee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
Tried it but couldn't eat it without risking my teeth and fillings; the caramel gets very hard. A big thank you to "Elizabeth & Joe" for the helpful review, because I'll make another batch using their tip to keep the caramel soft and then add them to my holiday gift plates.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
They were perfect and tasted so good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Championwhippet
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
I modified these a bit. I was using leftover carmel apple caramels that were melted with milk and these are nice and soft. These would be better if you toasted the pecans first then added the carmel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
beef brisket....wonderful...melts in your mouth
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Braze

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Plymouth, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
I did what was suggested by other reviewers, I melted the carmels with 1Tbls. of milk on the stove. I didn't use the oven except to toast the pecans. They turned out great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
Made these for Christmas Candy and everyone loved them!! they were so easy...thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angel Valdovinos

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Poca, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
Delicious.. I changed none of the ingredients, just the method. I nuked the caramels in in the microwave 90 secs, stirred it up a bit and nuked for another 30 seconds or so until it was melted, and just spooned it over 4 pecan halves on wax paper coated with non stick spray, stuck in freezer for 10 minutes, pulled out and dipped in the chocolate. They were pretty doggone good. I double dipped them in chocolate, once with semi sweet chips and the second time with chocolate bark. These went over BIG at my moms, 40 testers, gave it a big thumbs up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GregWmson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Soft Christmas Cookies

Buttery sugar cookies perfect for the holidays or any occasion.

Snappy Turtle Cookies

These fun chocolate-frosted cookies look just like turtles!

Chef John’s Christmas Miracle Fudge

See how to make rich, amazing fudge with no dairy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States