Christmas Turtle Candies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2002
Hmmm. The first try, we followed the instructions exactly. We ended up with rock hard turtles and sore teeth. Then we tried melting the 30 hershey's caramels with one tablespoon of water in the microwave for one minute, then stirred, put back in microwave for thirty more seconds. We then drizzled the caramel onto the pecans with spoons. Then we spread on the melted chocolate and chilled them. They turned out soft and YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
204 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2002
I tried to combine all of the suggestions from the other reviews. I used Hershey's caramels. I added a Tbsp or so of milk and then melted the caramel on the stove and stirred the pecans (I used chopped Pecans) into the caramel. Then I dropped the caramel by spoonfuls onto parchment paper. Then I melted the chocolate. When the caramel was hardened, I dipped each piece into the chocolate, totally covering each piece. I put them back onto parchment paper and they came out great! They come easily off the parchment paper when cooled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
134 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2002
I made these last year for Christmas gifts and they were a hit! My sweetie who is very careful not to exaggerate raved and was amazed how the caramel was so soft. My secret? Hershey's individually wrapped soft caramel. It was quick easy, a little expensive but the reactions were worth it. I find quality ingredients boasts quality results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2006
I had some troubles with these the first time I made them, so when I tried again, I was able to make them much better by using the following tips: First suggestion, melt the caramels at the lowest temperature your oven goes. Second, once you see that the caramels are softening up after heating them, push them into the nut you are use gently, then put them in the oven again for about five more minutes. This helps greatly because then you aren't baking the caramels, just melting them. Also, I covered them all the way with chocolate. There were great the second time around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2001
I tried making this recipe as written but the caramel came out so hard that it was inedible. I then tried melting the caramel on the stove and drizzling it over the pecans..IT WORKED. I blame my 20 year old oven for ruining my first batch. Melting the caramel on the stove takes a bit longer, but it's worth it. I also recommend using Kraft caramels.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2001
These were too firm to chew without taking out fillings. The second batch I melted the caramels in the microwave with 4 Tablespoons of whole milk for every 50 caramels as recommended on the pkg. These were too runny and didn't set up. Next time I will make these with 2 T. milk. Still very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2003
*WARNING* If you have TMJ do not try these. They taste great, but following the directions to the T will leave you with sore jaws, broke teeth, and lost fillings. I wish I had followed the other reviewers advise and fixed the caramels another way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Church Hill, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2002
Very good recipe. I lowered the oven temperature to 250 degrees and the caramels didn't turn out hard. I also used cashews instead of pecans and made "Cashew Crabs". My husband loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2003
These turned out great. I toasted the pecans for about 5 minutes before starting, and used a 300 degree oven as someone suggested. The caramel melted fine. I used the microwave to melt the chocolate 3 minutes at 40% power. Sinfully easy. The hardest part is unwrapping the candies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Point, Georgia, USA
Living In: New Port Richey, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2004
great tasting, but the caramel was too hard to chew. It was that teeth ripping kind of chew. I wonder if anything can be done about that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Snappy Turtle Cookies

These fun chocolate-frosted cookies look just like turtles!

Chef John’s Christmas Miracle Fudge

See how to make rich, amazing fudge with no dairy.

Clone of a Cracker Jack®

See how to make your own delicious peanutty, caramel-covered popcorn.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States