Christmas Turtle Candies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2002
I tried to combine all of the suggestions from the other reviews. I used Hershey's caramels. I added a Tbsp or so of milk and then melted the caramel on the stove and stirred the pecans (I used chopped Pecans) into the caramel. Then I dropped the caramel by spoonfuls onto parchment paper. Then I melted the chocolate. When the caramel was hardened, I dipped each piece into the chocolate, totally covering each piece. I put them back onto parchment paper and they came out great! They come easily off the parchment paper when cooled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
134 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2002
These are GOOD. We melted the carmels in a little water (per other suggestions). I think next time we'll just mix the pecans in with the melted carmel & spoon onto wax paper to add the melted chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Watertown, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2002
Hmmm. The first try, we followed the instructions exactly. We ended up with rock hard turtles and sore teeth. Then we tried melting the 30 hershey's caramels with one tablespoon of water in the microwave for one minute, then stirred, put back in microwave for thirty more seconds. We then drizzled the caramel onto the pecans with spoons. Then we spread on the melted chocolate and chilled them. They turned out soft and YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
204 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2002
I made these last year for Christmas gifts and they were a hit! My sweetie who is very careful not to exaggerate raved and was amazed how the caramel was so soft. My secret? Hershey's individually wrapped soft caramel. It was quick easy, a little expensive but the reactions were worth it. I find quality ingredients boasts quality results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2002
Very good recipe. I lowered the oven temperature to 250 degrees and the caramels didn't turn out hard. I also used cashews instead of pecans and made "Cashew Crabs". My husband loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2001
These were too firm to chew without taking out fillings. The second batch I melted the caramels in the microwave with 4 Tablespoons of whole milk for every 50 caramels as recommended on the pkg. These were too runny and didn't set up. Next time I will make these with 2 T. milk. Still very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2001
Ouch...plan to see your dentist if you try to bite into these! I followed the recipe precisely and the caramel came out so hard that it was crunchy. The only way these could be eaten was to allow the caramel to melt in your mouth. Thank goodness I didn't make these for a gift!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2001
I tried making this recipe as written but the caramel came out so hard that it was inedible. I then tried melting the caramel on the stove and drizzling it over the pecans..IT WORKED. I blame my 20 year old oven for ruining my first batch. Melting the caramel on the stove takes a bit longer, but it's worth it. I also recommend using Kraft caramels.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2001
I have made this recipe several times for work and family gatherings. Each time, they are a HUGE hit! Everyone thinks I spent hours making them, slaved over the stove with a candy thermometer, etc, etc. HA! (I have also used white chocolate chips and they turned out just as delicious.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2001
These didn't last too long in my house! I would suggest though, that you use KRAFT caramels, I used Trophy and they weren't as good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Snappy Turtle Cookies

These fun chocolate-frosted cookies look just like turtles!

Chef John’s Christmas Miracle Fudge

See how to make rich, amazing fudge with no dairy.

Christmas Fruitcake

This light, delicious fruitcake features dried, not candied, fruit.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States