Christmas Turtle Candies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
Tried it but couldn't eat it without risking my teeth and fillings; the caramel gets very hard. A big thank you to "Elizabeth & Joe" for the helpful review, because I'll make another batch using their tip to keep the caramel soft and then add them to my holiday gift plates.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
They were perfect and tasted so good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Championwhippet
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
I modified these a bit. I was using leftover carmel apple caramels that were melted with milk and these are nice and soft. These would be better if you toasted the pecans first then added the carmel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
beef brisket....wonderful...melts in your mouth
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Braze

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Plymouth, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
I did what was suggested by other reviewers, I melted the carmels with 1Tbls. of milk on the stove. I didn't use the oven except to toast the pecans. They turned out great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
Made these for Christmas Candy and everyone loved them!! they were so easy...thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angel Valdovinos

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Poca, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
Delicious.. I changed none of the ingredients, just the method. I nuked the caramels in in the microwave 90 secs, stirred it up a bit and nuked for another 30 seconds or so until it was melted, and just spooned it over 4 pecan halves on wax paper coated with non stick spray, stuck in freezer for 10 minutes, pulled out and dipped in the chocolate. They were pretty doggone good. I double dipped them in chocolate, once with semi sweet chips and the second time with chocolate bark. These went over BIG at my moms, 40 testers, gave it a big thumbs up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GregWmson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
Admittedly, I did not use storebought caramels because I was scared of them turning rockhard like others noted. I used the Caramels recipe off this site and it worked out wonderfully. I used the semisweet chips called for for half the batch, chocolate almond bark for the the half. Gotta say that I preferred the almond bark coating on these. Thanks! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
when i first went shopping for the caramels the store was fresh out of all of them so i tried rolos i set 1 on each pecan, they were amazing, they were not too hard, even after setting them in the fridge, everyone loved them and it was a quick fix!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by L3ZL!E

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
Caramels were way to hard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Snappy Turtle Cookies

These fun chocolate-frosted cookies look just like turtles!

Chef John’s Christmas Miracle Fudge

See how to make rich, amazing fudge with no dairy.

Clone of a Cracker Jack®

See how to make your own delicious peanutty, caramel-covered popcorn.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States