Christmas Strawberry Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
This receipe has started a tradition in my family, everyone in my family looks forward to the holidays knowing I will make this bread. THANKS A MILLION!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by S2BStarr

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by chloeliz
Reviewed: May 9, 2009
I had never heard of a strawberry loaf, and was pleasantly surprised by this recipe. I don't like strawberry cake, so I was skeptical, but this bread tastes like strawberry jam. I made a half recipe with a few alterations: 1. I didn't have strawberry extract, so I used an equal amount of strawberry jam 2. I omitted the cinnamon 3. I added 1 tsp of vanilla extract 4. I did not make the glaze. Other than that I followed everything in the original recipe, and it turned out great. It's really light and fluffy, and not overpoweringly sweet. My loaves did not get the nice pink color that's in the other picture--maybe because I used jam instead of extract? Overall, this is a surprisingly good loaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chloeliz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
This bread is so delicious. It's become a thing people know me for in the past year. I will make it whenever I have strawberries a bit past their prime, although I'm sure it tastes just as great with frozen strawberries. Sometimes I'll put sugar in the pans for a sweet crispy surprise. I've never used strawberry extract just because I always have vanilla on hand, and it seems to do the trick. Also I've only made the glaze once because this bread is too delicious and the texture too perfect to supplement. I'm so glad I found this recipe, it'll be in the books for years to come. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
I MADE THIS RECIPE EXACTLY AS YOUR DIRECTIONS SAY. HOWEVER, THE BREAD WAS NOT EVEN REMOTELY PINK AND TASTED LIKE A CINNAMON BREAD. I DO A LOT OF BAKING FOR MY FAMILY AND FOR OTHERS SO I AM NO STRANGER TO BAKING. THE LOAF TASTED GOOD BUT DID NOT RESEMBLE THE PINK BREAD YOU SHOW. THE CINNAMON MEASUREMENT IS EXCESSIVE. USUALLY A RECIPE CALLS FOR NO MORE THAN A TEASPOON.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
Everyone raved about this Strawberry bread it is really so moist and tasty. I will serve it for Easter with Strawberry ice cream on top. I may have to make my strawberries in syrup, since just one place sell them in Panama City. One of my favorite recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2009
This was just okay in my opinion...nothing great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baldwinsville, New York, USA
Living In: Port Saint Lucie, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2009
This bread is delicious and easy. I will definitely make it again. I did make some amendments to the recipe. I did not use the strawberry extract; I replaced it with vanilla. Instead of using frozen strawberries, I used fresh, and I did not use the glaze. The bread still turned out perfectly and had a fantastic taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
I really enjoyed this recipe! I used fresh strawberries instead of frozen sweetened ones, and I think if they had been pre-sweetened that it would have been really overpowering. I also used vanilla extract (I couldn't find strawberry extract anywhere), and it worked wonderfully as a substitute. My bread also caved in the middle - and got kind of soggy in the center after I poured the "frosting" over it. I'm not exactly a baker though, so I'm not sure what I did wrong. However aesthetics aside, everyone loved it, and I would definitely make it again! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
Great bread!! I do not add the topping I think the bread is perfect without it. A Christmas present favorite in my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2008
Oh my gosh! This is scrumptious. Like other reviewers, I couldn't find strawberry extract and instead used 1 tsp. of vanilla. I also only used 1 tsp. cinnamon because a tablespoon seemed like a lot to me. And I had to cook the bread closer to an hour. The only bummer is that when I set the loaves outside to cool for 15 minutes, a racoon ran off with one of them! I guess even the woodland creatures liked it...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry Orange Bread

Learn how to make this popular sweet treat for the holidays.

Banana Banana Bread

With this much banana flavor, it just had to be called “banana banana.”

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States