Christmas Stollen Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
Ended up with a solid lump of....well something! I followed the instructions to the letter as well as it was the first time I have made it. Very disappointed :-(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
This was amazing! I soaked the raisins in rum as others suggested and added cinnamon to the dough as well. I put everything in the bread machine on the dough setting and let it go. When it was done, I followed the rest of the directions, let it rise about 40 minutes and baked it. It turned out perfectly! It was delicious, I will definitely make this again next Christmas. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KDMCCLAIN

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
Delightful. Terrific for a breakfast bread but great anytime. Is now a holiday tradition here at the store our customers loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
The best bit is when you reach the marzipan! I made this with plain flour as I was keen to make the recipe before my next shopping visit to buy the bread flour. It didn't rise as much as it probably would've, but I'll try making it again with the correct flour. I also used fast-action dried yeast and this must've affected the way the bread rose; I think if you have this type of yeast it is best to add it to the dry ingredients, as suggested by another reviewer, and add the milk and egg to the mix that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by helenbu

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
This (finally) came out awesome--best ever. However, it did not appear to rise first go 'round. After waiting 1.5 hours for it to look 2x in bulk, I proofed another T. of yeast in warm water and kneaded it into the dough. Put the dough in a maybe 80 degree oven... It never looked really doubled in bulk but I'm not used to working w/ sweet dough, so I wasn't sure. I prepared it on the cookie sheet, waited 45 min, and then baked as instructed. It came out fine: texture, taste, everything. So happy ending after a lot of stress. I used homemade citron and candied cherries so I wondered if their being cold out of fridge discouraged the first yeast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Moxie
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
This recipe is awesome! My husband is German and this is one of his holiday favorites. Don't give up on this dough! I've made this recipe several times as written and each time I've had to add flour (at least an additional cup -- a LITTLE at a time!) The dough should be a soft dough, but I always have to add flour until it's no longer sticky, but NOT heavy. Soak the raisins in about an ounce of rum for several hours or overnight, as it adds flavor. Also, the rise time required is much longer than stated; probably due to the butter and heaviness of the fruit as another Reviewer speculated. Expect both rises to be at least double the time. This is recipe has become a taste of "home" and a Christmas tradition in our family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
This recipe is a great starting point. I feel it needs much more fruit, and you should let the fruit soak up the rum or brandy well for a moist stollen. My Oma used to wrap hers in a rum soaked cloth until Christmas and then she would powder it with sugar the day she wanted to serve it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephany Brown

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Mesquite, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
OOPS! I just reread the recipe and realized I only let it rise once. And it still turned out perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Magsbrit

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
Beautiful stollen! A few tips/changes that I made are - first, I added the yeast to the dry ingredients as suggested by a few reviewers, then added the milk, butter & egg to it. I put the dough into a stainless steel bowl, put my bowl ontop of the oven and turned my oven on at 200 degrees for about 3 hours. It didn't double in volume as stated in the recipe, but it did rise about 1/2 its size. Needless to say, after deflating it and adding the marzipan, it was a nice size. I also added the tsp of cinnamon and a 1/2 tsp of nutmeg to the dry ingredients. As well, I accidentally bought marzipan covered in chocolate as I have never bought it before. I thought, hey what a nice treat, so I put it into the dough and it came out beautifully! Since I had the chocolate in there, I didn't dust with icing sugar and cinnamon on top in case it was too sweet. This was our Christmas morning breakfast with fruit salad which will now become our tradition! Thanks so much for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
Good, but not nearly enough flour. An inexperienced cook will panic over the consistencey of the dough if made by the exact directions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Soft Christmas Cookies

Buttery sugar cookies perfect for the holidays or any occasion.

Christmas Fruitcake

This light, delicious fruitcake features dried, not candied, fruit.

Chef John’s Christmas Miracle Fudge

See how to make rich, amazing fudge with no dairy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States