Christmas Stollen Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2007
While I'm not personally big on eating this my friends and family love it when I do. It is now requested annually. Best part of this recipe: EVEN IF YOU MESS UP IT IS STILL FANTASTIC!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2006
This recipe is nice and easy enough but there are several noteable problems that I (and others) seemed to have had with it. First the flour content in this recipe is inadequate and I found that it took at LEAST another cup in the kneading process for it not to be just a pile of goop. Second this dough does not like to leven well. I was very careful to use a measured tablespoon of newly procured 'Flieshman's Rapid Rising Yeast' mixed into scalled and cooled to 115F milk with a teaspoon of honey and waited till it foamed a bit. An hour later the first proof was virtually non-existant and the dough was well oiled and sitting covered with a damp towel over it in a bowl above the preheated oven on a BALMY Florida Xmas eve afternoon. As I needed this for a party that night I just went forward and rolled it out, filled it with the marzipan and then let it try for the second proofing. It barely budged after another hour....I could smell the active yeast so I knew it had to be OK but it had hardly raised by 50%! Into the oven it went where it actually proofed a bit more to a barely satisfactory level. As baking is a measured science it is hard to say if you should add more yeast to this, but if I were to use this recipe again I think I would! Thirdly Stollen classically has spices in the dough and this recipe does not, as I hate bland food I added some ground cinnamon, clove, nutmeg, allspice and ginger to this and it was yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2006
Gluten intolerant?? You don't have to miss out on this fabulous recipe even if you need gluten free foods - I have just tried this wonderful recipe for the first time and because my mom is gluten intolerant we thought we would try the recipe with gluten free bread flour - it worked wonderfully!! So enjoy...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2006
WOW, this was awesome. I have had Stollen for all my life and never made it. I used this recipe and because I am a chef was able to assertain the process from experience of making yeast leavened breads. It turned out excellent my girlfriend could not stop eating it. I think this should be part of anyone's holiday treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2005
Try it in your bread machine. Really! Just put in all the liquid ingredients, then the flour (I reduced the amount to 2 1/4 cups) and then the yeast on top...after it has started to mix together, add the candied fruit a little at a time. Most of it will mix in, some may be left at the bottom of the pan. After the first rise, remove it from the machine. Turn your oven on to 200 degrees for 5 minutes - then turn it off. Knead the dough a little to get all the fruit in - the dough should be soft and a little sticky - don't add to much flour it will make the final product stiff and dry! Then roll it out and put in the marzipan just like the recipe says. Put it in the warmed oven to rise - I guarantee it will rise up beautifully - as long as you haven't added too much flour! It is a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
170 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDMinNoVa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Vienna, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2005
My hubby's family is German and it isn't Christmas without a stollen. Usually we order one from Dresden but last year I decided to make one. I'm giving it four stars because it passed the in law test and was delicious but MAN is it a lot of work. If you're willing to put in the time to find the ingredients and make it, this IS the recipe you want to try. We're buying a stollen this year, simply because I'm being lazy. This recipe is authentic and wonderful. Oma and Opa would approve!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2005
excellent recipe. mine came out incredibly well considering it was my first time dealing with yeast. the only hard part was finding "candied citron". i eventually located them in an imported food store. my husbands family is german and they loved this bread. i'll be making it again next christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2004
This came out a lot bigger than I thought it would.. but thats fine! I read the reviews and I would agree it took it's time rising but I put it ontop of a warm oven and eventually it got going and then was fine, I added a little honey to the milk/yeast and I think that helped. It was a bit of a sloppy mix but I just added a little more flour and lightly kneaded it. Yet to taste it but it looks and smells divine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2004
Very delicious. Made this for Christmas morning. My husband was quite impressed. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kuisinebykaren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2002
The poor thing sat in the bowl and didn't rise. I have made lots of bread and I had new yeast but I think there is a problem with the way in which the yeast is handled. The recipe has good potential so I'll try is using a more traditional method.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Christmas Fruitcake

This light, delicious fruitcake features dried, not candied, fruit.

How to Make French Baguettes

You really can make authentic French baguettes from scratch. See how it's done!

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States