Christmas Stollen Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2008
Really good!! Everyone loved it! I even had 2 people ask for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by American

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2008
This recipe barely rose at all, but my husband (who is dutch and grew up eating stollen) decided to throw it into the oven away. It rose a bit more, but it still came out like a brick. The taste is not bad, but it is also not the same as the stollen he grew up with. I doubt we will try this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2007
I have tried making this twice and both times it failed to rise. The second time I proofed the yeast to ensure that it was good. I couldn't toss it out, so I cut it into thick slices and baked it again to get a biscotti type of bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2007
This was my first attempt at making a stollen and it came out PERFECT!!! I come from a German family so to make something authentic around the holidays was great. This is definitely becoming a staple in my family's Christmas tradition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2007
Just a note about the rising time - with other stollen recipes I've read (and used), they say it will take up to 3 hours for the dough to double. I think it may be all the butter, plus the weight of the fruit. At any rate, it did take a long time for this to rise, but it came out fine in the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
followed the recipe step by step... stollen turned out great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2007
This is the 4th year I've used this recipe to make stollen as gifts for family and friends. It's great! A few tips for people first setting out: 1) Marzipan contains almonds, so take care if you or anyone you make it for has nut allergies. 2) This makes a HUGE stollen. When the recipe calls for folding the halves it over onto one another, instead put each half on its own tray (or well separated on a large baking pan) and make two in one go. 3) Sprinkle icing sugar on the stollen just after you pull them out of the oven - don't wait! The heat from the dough will be sufficient to melt the sugar and create a sugary 'crust' instead of just powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
117 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2007
A difficult recipe that didn't rise well. I know that there was nothing wrong with my yeast or the temperature in my kitchen. I am wondering if it would be better to let the dough rise initially without the fruit, and then knead it in before letting it rise for a second time. It was still delicious even though heavy, so I am going to try that next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
For those saying they had a problem with yeast may have added it to too warm a liquid and killed it OR if you use Rapid Rise, it must be added to the dry ingredients like the package says. I love almond and the marzipan or almond filling works great and makes it even more wonderful. Different dried fruits can be used depending on your taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
This was great - not only good to eat, but pretty. I used fast action yeast instead of regular dried yeast, and the recipe worked fine. I stirred the fast action yeast into the dry ingredients, then added the warmed milk and egg. Normally, fast action yeast takes less time to double and requires one raising time. With all the fruit in this, the dough took a good hour and a quarter to double. Then I shaped it, left it for about ten minutes and put it in the oven. I thought the dough was easy to handle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Soft Christmas Cookies

Buttery sugar cookies perfect for the holidays or any occasion.

Christmas Fruitcake

This light, delicious fruitcake features dried, not candied, fruit.

Chef John’s Christmas Miracle Fudge

See how to make rich, amazing fudge with no dairy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States