Christmas Stollen Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
My husband lived in Germany for awhile as a child and misses some of the German fare he got there. We are lucky enough to have a store here that sells an alright stollen but this year for Christmas he requested I make one for him. He is never going to let me buy one again. He said this had everything he had been looking for but was missing in the store bought kind. I did recipe as it is except no raisins and currants but substituted dates and added a half cup of walnuts. It was wonderful. Everyone that had it at our Christmas dinner loved it. I will definitely be making this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Living In: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
My first attempt at Stollen and a FANTASTIC one too!I must say I was quite bummed out when I realized that the bread flour I'd bought was whole wheat bread flour.Am so glad I made it with whole wheat! Ensure the yeast makes the milk foamy and brownish.I started working on this at abt 1.30 pm on Christmas eve. I put the yeast mixture with the egg, white sugar, salt, butter, and 2 cups bread flour into the food processor and slowly added the remaining flour into it (as directed in the recipe).I used a little more flour at the time of kneading in with fruit (until it wasn't stick and difficult to work with --- just don't make it dry and hard).I used cranberries instead of cherries. I then covered this with a wet cloth as directed, and kept this by the window (for warmth) for about 9 hours. I then deflated it (at abt 11.30 pm), rolled the marzipan (used golden) into a rope and put that into the center, sealed the seams, put it on a cookie tray, and once again covered with a wet cloth and left it over night to rise so that I could bake it on Christmas morning (about 8am). Noone in my family wanted to wait until the stollen completely cooled, so I waited for just about 20 minutes, dusted it with confectioners' sugar and cinnamon and served. A 100% hit! Next time the changes I'd make are to make marzipan rope thicker (1.5 inch diameter), not use mixed fruit but add peel, currant etc all separately,try this with white bread flour, and soak fruits in rum. Thanks Lee for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ri2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
what people do not realize is that when a recipe calls for bread flour, you should use it-higher gluten and use the active dry yeast.you will need around(3 T more flour). i did soak all the fruit in dark rum for a few hours, then drained it. added to the flavor. because the fruit mixture will be wet, a little more flour is needed to knead. you do not need to knead for longer than 3 minutes. secret: heat oven to 100 degrees, shut off, and add dough to oven to rise. i added extra fruit and toasted sliced almonds. i skipped the cinnamon and marzipan-too sweet for me. this recipe was so good. the recipe works. don't cut corners with the main ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
Okay...I followed the recipe exactly (even after reading all of the reviews) just to see if it would work and it doesn't. The dough didn't rise and I'm positive that the yeast was active because I tested it. Then I stuck it in the oven to see if that would do the trick. Frankly, it looked great in the end, the top was golden brown. I topped it and then we cut into it later. It was raw in the center, a tasty thick raw dough. Take the advice of others and just continue for it to rise or else you will be throwing out several pounds of sweet gooey fruity dough. That being said, it does have great potential and I will continue the mission...but next time I will figure out how to make it rise!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brooke

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingwood, Texas, USA
Living In: Budapest, Pest, Hungary
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
I made this and passed it around at the office and home. Everyone loved it. I did make a couple of small changes. -I could not find Currants so I used Dried Blueberries, they were a bit large, I may cut them up a bit next time. -I'm the kind of guy that makes sandwiches the same all through, no lumps of stuff or empty spots. I flattened the dough to a large rectangle, flattened the Marzipan to just a bit smaller, laid it on the dogh and folded the dough over to cover the Marzipan. That way, it was spread throughout the whole cake instead of a rope through the center. -I used a smaller amount of Saigon Cinnamon instead of the regular type. I love that stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
Beautiful recipe; used instant yeast, replaced cherries with apricots, and 7 oz of homemade marzipan (I can't get enough). Baking time for me was 55 minutes; it won't rise substantially in advance but it will spring enough when you start to bake it. The dough will appear wet, esp. if you're using non-AP flour and esp. if you're using a mixer and can't instantly tell by feel that the dough actually does hold together well. I thought initially the salt was excessive but it tastes the correct amount.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
Made today. Excellent result. Straightforward to make. Very good sized stollen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
Ended up with a solid lump of....well something! I followed the instructions to the letter as well as it was the first time I have made it. Very disappointed :-(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
This was amazing! I soaked the raisins in rum as others suggested and added cinnamon to the dough as well. I put everything in the bread machine on the dough setting and let it go. When it was done, I followed the rest of the directions, let it rise about 40 minutes and baked it. It turned out perfectly! It was delicious, I will definitely make this again next Christmas. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KDMCCLAIN

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
Delightful. Terrific for a breakfast bread but great anytime. Is now a holiday tradition here at the store our customers loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Christmas Fruitcake

This light, delicious fruitcake features dried, not candied, fruit.

How to Make French Baguettes

You really can make authentic French baguettes from scratch. See how it's done!

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States