Christmas Stollen Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2015
This has become our new Christmas tradition. Great for dessert for guests or for gifts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jim Zwahlen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
Delicious, and got absolutely rave reviews from the family! This did not rise very well for me, but it turned out excellent in the end. I ended up doing the first rise for about 2 1/2 hours and the second for about 1 1/2, and I don't think it fully doubled either time. I think in the future I might try a batch with rapid rise yeast. Otherwise, I went a little heavy on the fruit (but not by too much), soaked the currants and raisins in coconut rum (it was what I had) for a few hours, and split the marzipan into three ropes instead of one. That turned out to be a great decision. I laid them side by side and then made sure to keep them separated as I folded over the dough so that there was a little morsel of marzipan in roughly each third of each slice in the bread. This was really fantastic, and although a fair bit of work, I will definitely plan to make it each Christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dahlonega, Georgia, USA
Living In: Notasulga, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mbeck65
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
I did not use marzipan, I had some in freezer, will use next time (Easter). I made 2 separate recipes and added the dry yeast to mixer, then added 120-130 degree whole milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
This recipe is the ticket to old fashioned, down home, German stollen! Wunderbar!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annie Oakley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
Made it now twice in a week to keep and give away. Made the first stage in bread machine. I added a TBSP of ground cardamon (as I noticed it in some other stollen recipes, some cinnamon, lemon zest and 1/4 cup of choc chips. Very yummy. The first time I made it I halved the recipe again, and made one gigantic stollen to give to teachers at school- however on reflection I think two medium size ones (which I am making now) are better, they look better, and I imagine bread to marzipan ratio would be better! Will keep this and use again each year. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
My husband loved it! I made it in my bread maker (mine is a little older, so the last rise cycle doesn't work that well) so I just set it for the dough, then took it out and baked it. I used orange peel instead of lemon and cranberries. I will try a slice with my morning coffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
My Mom was German and I've been using this delicious recipe for the last 2 years. It is not meant to be a light fluffy loaf since a stollen is a dense chewy sweet bread. I've adapted the recipe to use the dough cycle of my bread maker so I put in the liquid ingredients first, then the dry ingredients. I wait until the 'add fruit/huts' beep in the kneading cycle to slowly add the chopped fruit. I add extra flour or milk as required at that time to make a smooth but moist ball of dough. I use dried cherries, candied ginger, citron, raisins and candied peel for my fruit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
I made this recipe twice, differently both time, and both times yielded a very yummy product. This is a repeat! Take 1. -I used AP flour bc I didn't have bread flour. -I replaced the cherries w diced dried apricots, and soaked them, with the currants and raisins, in brandy for 20 mins. -I heated the milk in the microwave for 1 min, before dissolving the yeast (in hindsight, the milk ended up being too warm, and I wonder if that "killed" the yeast a bit). -I agree with others - if you have a stand mixer with a dough hook, there is no need for any more flour; however, given that the raisins etc. were a little wet, I did use some more flour in the kneading process to counter the extra moisture. -the first rise took 3 hrs, the second 1 hr - and even with the extra time, the dough did not get to more than 150% its original size -I omitted marzipan (hubby has almond allergies) Everything else I followed to a tee, and the product was a delicious, buttery stollen, albeit more "cakey" than the traditional I'm used to, given the AP flour. Take 2. - I soaked the dried fruits in rum overnight, to get more of the alcohol flavour - I used bread flour - First rise took 2 hrs, and the dough doubled nicely. I set the dough to rise in an oven I heated to 200 F, and then turned off - The second rise took 1 hr, the dough doubled, again I set it in a warm oven Both times, I divided the dough into 2 loaves. The result was a more traditional stollen texture with the same great flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
Try as I might, I cannot get the dough to rise. I have re-read this recipe. I don't know what I did wrong. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
This is my 3rd holiday season making this stollen. I've tweeked a couple of things: I soak 1/3 c currants, 2/3 c apricots and 1/3 c golden raisins in brandy overnight and drain. This year I'm making my own marzipan (really easy!). Yes, it takes FOREVER to rise. A suggestion is to put it in the over with a pan of hot (about 110) water under. With all the fats and fruits, it's a slow rise. But, oh, so worth it!! I always double the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Soft Christmas Cookies

Buttery sugar cookies perfect for the holidays or any occasion.

Christmas Fruitcake

This light, delicious fruitcake features dried, not candied, fruit.

Chef John’s Christmas Miracle Fudge

See how to make rich, amazing fudge with no dairy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States