Christmas Stollen Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
Awesome! (no that is not too strong a word to use for this!) This is the best stollen recipe I've ever tried. I made the dough in the bread machine on dough cycle. When it was all done, I added the fruit. Note: Since I didn't use marzipan, I soaked the raisins in Amaretto while dough was in the bread machine to give a touch of almond flavor. This worked really well. After I kneaded in the fruit, I formed it into a loaf, covered it, let it rise about an hour and then baked it per directions. If you have amazing self control, this tastes even better the next day after the flavors have 'matured'. Wonderful recipe that I will gladly use again and again. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
This is a great recipe. It's the first time I've made Christ-stollen myself, and it came out beautifully. I used currants, golden raisins, dried cherries, and candied orange peel (only about 1/2 cup, not 2/3) as my fruit; the currants, raisins, and cherries were soaked in brandy for about 15 minutes, then drained and incorporated. I also subbed in 1/2 cup fresh whole wheat flour for 1/2 cup of the white flour (which was King Arthur All Purpose, not bread flour). About the only other modification I'm going to make next time is to try and roll my almond paste into a sheet and roll it more into the dough so that it streaks the dough more. The only reason I gave the recipe 4 stars and not 5 is that the timing given in the recipe is misleading. This is not a 3-hour recipe, and if you only give the dough an hour for the first rise, it's not going to double, even if your house is toasty. That's simply how sweet, milk/egg/butter breads are, and I think this is the problem some reviewers have run into. So give it longer on the first rise (I gave it about 2 1/2 hours) and on the second (an hour or so rather than 40 minutes). It is worth the wait. Oh, and use a stand mixer to start the kneading if you can--it makes it so that you can stick closer to the flour amounts given.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NMHeckel

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2012
I made it in the bread machine, followed recipe to a T. I had a soupy mess in the pan. I had to add another cup of flour to it before it came together. It still tasted good and was soft, which is what I was looking for. Others I have made have been very dry. I'll try it again with the extra flour and maybe more sugar, wasn't really that sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
2 1/2 cups of flour isn't enough. I had to add at least another cup to make the dough work. I also added a couple of teaspoons of almond extract, and ended up with a really good stollen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
My parents are German immigrants, and I make Christstollen every year and sell it on ebay. This is very close to the recipe I have developed from authentic sources. I use orange peel, lemon peel, and citron, and I don't use candied cherries. Christstollen is baked throughout the Christmas season in Germany, and it is tradition in some parts of the country to eat the last one on Easter - and that was before modern refrigeration (no freezers)! The way this was accomplished is in how the loaf is finished. While the loaf is still warm, you brush it with copious amounts of melted butter. I would recommend 1/4 cup butter for this one loaf. It is then THICKLY coated with powdered sugar. This process keeps all the moisture inside the loaf, as well as adding wonderful flavor. The reason for the shape of the Stollen loaf is that is to represent the Christchild in swaddling clothes. I shape the loaf by first spreading the dough into an oval shape, about 6 inches by 14 inches. If I am using marzipan, as in this recipe, I lay the log near one edge, then roll that long edge over the marzipan, gathering the sides in slightly, then rolling to about 1 inch away from the other side, pressing gently. Stollen is a wonderful accompaniment to coffee or tea, and it wouldn't be Christmas in our house without it! Merry Christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by corinaesq

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
This stollen reminds me of the ones my German grandfather used to send us as Christmas gifts. I've tried to reproduce them myself, and have come close, and this is the closest I think I can come! My husband also says it's the best stollen I've ever made. I made a couple of adjustments--1 tsp of salt is enough, and I added 1/3 cup slivered almonds and used a basic candied fruit mix rather than just the cherries and citron. Also, to make as gifts, it should be possible to divide the dough in half and get two smaller loaves, which are closer to the size I remember receiving from Granddad. This loaf is huge! But thank you so much for the perfect stollen recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
My first six star review! I admit I changed a few things but I credit that to preference. I made my own candied citrus peels and omitted the currants. I made one for my family and it will be my new tradition! I love this recipe and such a perfect way to remind us all of the simplicity of an older time. A toasted slice of this with coffee and an orange is a wonderful holiday suprise!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by whereiroamishome

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
This is a solid loaf - as the stollen I have had is - and I really enjoyed it. I left out the cinnamon and used non-melting powdered sugar to roll it straight out of the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
Since I had stollen in Switzerland last Christmas, I decided I had to learn how to make it and this was the right recipe. Unfortunately I cannot find candied cherries or citron in my country so I substituted grated lemon and tangerine peel, and dried cranberries and it tasted great. Skipped the marzipan since I hate it. Prepared the dough in the bread machine, and brushed the hot loaf with butter and sprinkled with powdered sugar to get the crunchy crust. Mmmm! Thank yoU!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LoveNCyprus

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Malaga, Andalucia, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
Fabulous recipe. As another user suggested, I start it off in the bread machine, and then allow for the second rise in a warm area. Make sure your yeast is fresh. I usually also swap the candied cherries for dried, tart cherries. Enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Christmas Fruitcake

This light, delicious fruitcake features dried, not candied, fruit.

How to Make French Baguettes

You really can make authentic French baguettes from scratch. See how it's done!

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States