Christmas Stars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
I did not make these cookies but wanted to offer a tip on cut-out cookies. Roll them out on parchment (or a cookie sheet), cut them and REMOVE THE EXCESS dough. That way, your cookies will retain the shape because you're not handling them. Remember to make the cuts with enough room between them to bake properly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
252 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by anne

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SUGARREI
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2004
I've been making these cookies for a few years now, and everybody demands them from me at Christmas time. Even though I've thought about 'retiring' from this exercise because it means torturous sessions toiling in the kitchen like a sweaty elf, I can't, simply because the results and the awed looks it generates from other folks are just that good! They're so gorgeous that really, they should be known as America's Next Top Cookie. One little thing I've learned is to keep the dough as cold as possible when rolling - even if that means keeping your kitchen window/door open. Another tip: cut the small star (the one that goes in the center of half of the cookies) once you've placed them on the cookie sheet. It's a lot easier to pry the excess centre dough with a small knife that it is trying to transfer the hollowed star shape onto the sheet intact. Finally, I use red and green decorator sugar to give it a more festive look - this year I'm going to try some icing sugar too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
125 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUGARREI

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2003
I made these for Christmas, and everyone enjoyed them. I made them again for Valentine's Day, using heart cookie cutters. I used seedless raspberry jam for the filling and everyone really liked them. One suggestion: I tend to make thick cookies, (I like them that way) but this recipe you need to keep them thin because, remember, you will be stacking them. My Christmas batch I made too thick, but the Valentine batch I made thinner and were great. Good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2005
Very yummy. Didn't have star cutters so I used a glass to make round cuts and mini Christmas cutters for the center cut (mitten, tree, candy cane). They came out looking great (just like ones I've seen sold thru Williams Sonoma). AND they tasted fabulous. Used raspberry preserves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Perkasie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Oceanside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by manna0683
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
Easy to make and delicious! I sifted some powdered sugar on top instead of the sprinkles. I also found that if you work in small batches to keep the dough really cold they are easier to work with. If you put the cut outs on a parchment paper lined pan an place the pan in the freezer for a few minutes before baking, the cookies will hold their shape better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by manna0683

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Watauga, Texas, USA
Photo by celestialcharms
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
Yes, it is alot of work, but the results are impressive. It took me 2 batches of broken stars to take heed of a previous reviewers suggestion of using parchment paper. After that change, making the cookies was a breeze. A few of my stars were renegades and became slightly mis-shapen. To correct that, I made a pointsetta looking cookie by placing the top cookie slightly askewed from the bottom one and dusted with powdered sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by celestialcharms

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
Very good recipe, but I didn't do the sandwich style. I made a dip in the middle before I baked them with a teaspoon and then put the jam in once they were done. I also doubled the recipe and froze some of the dough and still ended up with 88 cookies. So if you need cookies for a big crowd...you will get a lot! :) Great recipe! Will definately use it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2005
This is a fantastic recipe -- they looked so beautiful that no one would believe they were homemade! I never made any modifications to the recipe -- the dough was very easy to roll and transfer to the cookie sheets -- I only wrecked ONE cookie!! (I followed another reviewer's advice and did the center cut-outs AFTER the cookies were on the pan.) And it may just be me, but I found the dough handled best after it had warmed up a bit. Thanks for sharing this recipe; it's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rocky Mountain House, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
This is definitely not the easiest dough in the world to work with, so here is how to save your sanity: after chilling the dough, cut the dough in half, roll each half out on a piece of parchment paper, and cut out your shapes. At this point, your dough will have softened up again, so put the dough back in the fridge for a few (10-20) minutes. The dough will then be stiff enough to work with, and you can simply peel the dough off the parchment paper and place onto your baking sheets. Take the remaining dough trimmings and repeat the process! A variation that you *MUST* try is to use Nutella in place of the jam - to die for!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHTHONIC1239

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Alamosa, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2004
Beautiful looking cookies!! I used green and yellow decorator sugars for a pretty star effect. Also, I used Tastefully Simple's Raspberry & Strawberry Jam - a wonderful combination for this cookie. Looked great and tasted great! I kept them stored in the fridge until serving and they were well recieved. I would make these in various shapes for various holidays (IE: Valentines day...heart cut-outs with the same jam and red sprinkles or possibly bridal or baby showers). To whomever posted this recipe: Thanks a million for providing me a recipe that gives the impression that I can bake cookies like I do it for a living!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Christmas Wreaths

These charming Christmas wreaths are festive and tasty.

Chef John’s Christmas Miracle Fudge

See how to make rich, amazing fudge with no dairy.

Christmas Fruitcake

This light, delicious fruitcake features dried, not candied, fruit.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States