Christmas Stars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
These were so yummy and quickly became a favorite at our house! We used homemade strawberry jam left over from Summer, made it just a bit sweeter that way !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
These are too much work... dough is too sticky and even the size cutters, which I had looked absolutely nothing like the image. Very disappointed and was looking forward to these cookies specifically.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Smithtown, New York, USA
Living In: Converse, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
Delicious; but I wouldn't bake them eight minutes they need to be thin so that you can layer them. So I baked them for five and they were perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by McKennacat

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paw Paw, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
I was so let down by this cookie. The title and descriptions had me excited to make it. Basically, it is just a sugar cookie, nothing special. It also makes a ton! I would consider making half. It made 84 halves, 4 sheets, and 42 cookies. I thought it was a lot of work for the taste. The dough is hard to work with, somewhat, even after refridgeration. It has to be rolled out about 3 times with extra flour to get it to not stick. I had some 100% fruit jelly in the fridge I really like. I specifically bought Smuckers strawberry jam for this, and thought it made it too sweet. It almost reminded me of pb&j. I used a linzer cookie cutter, to cut out interesting centers. The dough does not spread much when baking, which was nice. So, my shapes did come out. However, it was just too much work, and time involved, for such a plain taste. I might give them away to some neighborhood kids, but don't plan to serve them at the Christmas table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
I found this recipe too sticky and hard to roll even after refridgerating for 4 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
These turned out awesome! They really tasted awesome! Just perfect :) I'm a beginner at backing but these are easy and yummy... With the rest of the dough, I used the smallest star cookie cutter and tiny little stars cookie were the cutest thing ever! Here's another tip that might be useful for you: When applying the marmalade or preserves apply it on the BOTTOM(the side that was touching the tray or cookie sheet) of the NOT cutout cookie because it's more stable. And with the cutout cookie, put the BOTTOM side of it on the preserves part...which means that the 2 bottoms of the 2 cookies touch! it looks really good and professional this way! :) Cheers
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
i like!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
This is definitely not the easiest dough in the world to work with, so here is how to save your sanity: after chilling the dough, cut the dough in half, roll each half out on a piece of parchment paper, and cut out your shapes. At this point, your dough will have softened up again, so put the dough back in the fridge for a few (10-20) minutes. The dough will then be stiff enough to work with, and you can simply peel the dough off the parchment paper and place onto your baking sheets. Take the remaining dough trimmings and repeat the process! A variation that you *MUST* try is to use Nutella in place of the jam - to die for!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHTHONIC1239

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Alamosa, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
A fun recipe, looks really nice, but it was a LOT of work. I will probably only make these for special once-in-a-lifetime occasions. The cookie itself was nothing special, but the cookies sandwiched with raspberry jam were awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BLyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sandy, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
Tasty but a lot of work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Soft Christmas Cookies

Buttery sugar cookies perfect for the holidays or any occasion.

Christmas Wreaths

These charming Christmas wreaths are festive and tasty.

Chef John’s Christmas Miracle Fudge

See how to make rich, amazing fudge with no dairy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States