Christmas Red Pickles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2008
My great grandmother used to make these pickles for us every Christmas. They are unusual, but they taste incredible. This recipe is a perfect match to my grandmother's handwritten recipe from years ago. They do take a while to make, but they are completely worth the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
I made these yesterday. I cut my pickles into spears and I didn't let them sit in the syrup overnight. I just canned them and put them in the waterbath. I figured they would be setting until the holidays anyway. It was all I could do not to eat the syrup with a spoon. Thanks for a great recipe. 9/3 Update..I made another batch and this time I cut them in 1/2 moons. They are even more beautiful then the first time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonnie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Monroe, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
WOW....I can't believe how these taste. My husband has been looking for this recipe since his mother past away. THESE ARE INCREDIBLE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2011
These are awesome! Gave them away as Christmas gifts last year and now that the cucumbers in the garden are abundant people are calling to "request" them again this year! They do take some time....but they really are worth it! Has anyone tried this recipe using Ball Pickle Crisp granules yet?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saranac Lake, New York, USA
Living In: Moira, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2009
my mother makes these a lot to sell. Most people who buy them think they are made with apples. They are very good, but a bit too cinnamon-y for my like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
My Grandmother has been making these pickles for years. They are awesome. Couldn't stop eating them, and everyone who has tried them loves them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albertville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Winder, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
I make this recipe with zucchini and it's also amazing. They don't get soggy, but they are firm and the first time I saw them, I thought they were apples. The lady who made them sliced and cored them and canned them that way. They look really nice in a jar that way. Just make sure the zucchini aren't too fat to fit. If they are, then you have to cut them up. Great way to use up all that zucchini!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mishalee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Photo by angcamper
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
Just finished making our first batch of these yesterday. As someone else stated, they can be time consuming, but oh my goodness are they worth it! Yum, yum, yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by angcamper

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Florissant, Missouri, USA
Living In: Saint Charles, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
I'm going to make these this summer, my grandmother made them, and they are worth the work!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
Excellent!! Highly recommend these to everyone! Our family loves them and they will make perfect additions to gifts for the holidays!! Time consuming but definitely worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Bread and Butter Pickles

See how to make easy bread and butter pickles from scratch.

How to Make Bread and Butter Pickles

Add crunch to your lunch with your own homemade pickles.

Chef John’s Braised Red Cabbage

See how to make flavorful, quick-and-easy braised red cabbage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States