Christmas Pinwheel Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
-don't roll the layers too thin, otherwise when you combine them, it isn't very distinct -Use more food coloring to make it more distinct -refrigerate dough if its too soft
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by krisD

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
These cookies are well worth the work! I make these for Christmas and they make my cookie tray look amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winter Park, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
I had no problems at all with this recipe, and followed it to the letter. I did find them very buttery, but as long as you keep the dough chilled they were really easy to do. My red/green ones looked kinda Dr. Seuss-y, which I totally liked. I think these would be great for any occasion. Really tasty, classic recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Etobicoke, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
These instructions for the cookie are okay but tedious when they shouldn't be and lax when they should be tedious. In my opinion there is no need to sift and resift, a good stir to mix the dry ingredients well is enough. I think brown sugar is useless and makes things harder. My tips for this recipe would be: Roll the rectangles out between waxed/parchment paper and keep them in the fridge for 30 minutes THEN put them on top of each other. Roll into the log and refrigerate overnight before trying to slice them. There is no need to place them on a lightly floured surface, the wax/parchment paper should prevent sticking as you cut them. To make one half chocolate, just mix in 1/4 cup cocoa powder. There's no need to melt and cool chocolate...what a waste. To the white half you can add 1/3 cup almond flour, ground almonds or a teaspoon of peppermint essence.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by whowantsmore
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
Love this recipe! I made 7 doz. for a cookie swap party and they look and taste great. I followed the recipe completely, except I added almond extract as well as the vanilla. I did 1 tsp. almond and 1/2 tsp. of vanilla . I will definitely go back to this recipe, the cookies are so festive looking! Thank you Gitano!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by whowantsmore

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Maine, USA
Living In: Standish, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
good cookie but the dough does not roll out AT ALL...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Barnes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
Delicious. I refrigerated the dough before rolling out, the again before slicing. Baked at 350 degrees for 11minutes as I was worried that in my oven they would burn at 400. They were perfect and very pretty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
Made these for a cookie exchange, and everyone loved them. Made them green and red. For the red I added 2 to 3 TBS of cocoa powder, and red food color, to get them a nice red color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
time consuming, hard to make sure each layer is same thickness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monticello, Iowa, USA
Living In: Vinton, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
I pretty much followed this recipe as is, with some sugar substitutions. The cookies turned out great! The only trouble I had was that the dough got very soft after I mixed in the food colouring, so I refrigerated it for about 10 minutes before rolling it out. I rolled the two colours between wax paper, and then used the wax paper to help me flip the pink layer onto the blue (Princess Aurora "spinning wheels" for a birthday party). I also used the wax paper to help roll the dough into a log, then I put it in the freezer for 1 hour before slicing the cookies. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States