Christmas Pinwheel Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
Wonderful cookie! Today I made a red and white version and added 1/2 tsp of peppermint extract to the red bowl of dough. Yum! Also had some melted chocolate left over from another recipe and dipped a few of these cookies halfway into the chocolate, oh emm gee! I think next time I may make a layered bar type of cookie, roll out the dough and use about 5 layers alternating colors, then dip half into the chocolate ??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clearwater, Florida, USA
Living In: Eagle River, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
Worked great! Dusted with flour to roll the out and rolled them in parchement lined cookie sheets to get same size, delicious and pretty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather Smith

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2014
first color roll out I kept adding more flour because it was too sticky. Second color I put in fridge for a little while before rolling out. I should make these more than once a year so I remember what I did wrong the last time. Taste is awesome. So worth the work and I love the design.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
-don't roll the layers too thin, otherwise when you combine them, it isn't very distinct -Use more food coloring to make it more distinct -refrigerate dough if its too soft
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by krisD

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
These cookies are well worth the work! I make these for Christmas and they make my cookie tray look amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winter Park, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
I had no problems at all with this recipe, and followed it to the letter. I did find them very buttery, but as long as you keep the dough chilled they were really easy to do. My red/green ones looked kinda Dr. Seuss-y, which I totally liked. I think these would be great for any occasion. Really tasty, classic recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Etobicoke, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
These instructions for the cookie are okay but tedious when they shouldn't be and lax when they should be tedious. In my opinion there is no need to sift and resift, a good stir to mix the dry ingredients well is enough. I think brown sugar is useless and makes things harder. My tips for this recipe would be: Roll the rectangles out between waxed/parchment paper and keep them in the fridge for 30 minutes THEN put them on top of each other. Roll into the log and refrigerate overnight before trying to slice them. There is no need to place them on a lightly floured surface, the wax/parchment paper should prevent sticking as you cut them. To make one half chocolate, just mix in 1/4 cup cocoa powder. There's no need to melt and cool chocolate...what a waste. To the white half you can add 1/3 cup almond flour, ground almonds or a teaspoon of peppermint essence.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Theresa Greene
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
Love this recipe! I made 7 doz. for a cookie swap party and they look and taste great. I followed the recipe completely, except I added almond extract as well as the vanilla. I did 1 tsp. almond and 1/2 tsp. of vanilla . I will definitely go back to this recipe, the cookies are so festive looking! Thank you Gitano!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Theresa Greene

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Maine, USA
Living In: Standish, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
good cookie but the dough does not roll out AT ALL...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Barnes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
Delicious. I refrigerated the dough before rolling out, the again before slicing. Baked at 350 degrees for 11minutes as I was worried that in my oven they would burn at 400. They were perfect and very pretty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Soft Christmas Cookies

Buttery sugar cookies perfect for the holidays or any occasion.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Big Soft Ginger Cookies

Make these 5-star ginger cookies for Christmas—or any time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States