Christmas Pinwheel Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
These were pretty good and my kids really loved them. My only issue was that the recipe tells you to roll the dough out and place one color on top of the other after adding the food coloring, but there was no way that was going to happen, the dough was far too sticky. I had to refridgerate the dough overnight and then roll them out and put them together. Then I had to return them to the refridgerator again overnight to get a clean slice and nice looking cookie. This whole process was slightly time consuming, but otherwise they tasted good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
120 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Celeste
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
I loved these, although I suspect the brown sugar is what made them difficult for others, therefore I only used white sugar. I rolled the dough in between wax paper, layed them on a cutting board and stuck in the fridg. for 10 min. before putting the 2 doughs together and rolling. Then I froze the roll for an additional hour before cutting into slices, and baking. They turned out fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
110 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Celeste

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Helena, California, USA
Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Photo by Gitano
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2008
This is my recipe, yes, it is a time-consuming one, but well worth it. I split it over 2 days, make the dough one day and bake the next. As for the other baker's difficulty in the stickiness of the dough, I have never had that problem. Add more flour to the dough if it sticks as it should roll out like a dense pie dough. Also, AR said to add one drop of food colouring (not what I had submitted), you need half a bottle to get the desired shades of vibrant green and red!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gitano

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
I like to mess with the flavors according to the time of the year. During Christmas I like to do a Chocolate and Peppermint mix. Valentine's Day I like to do a Chocolate and Strawberry. You get the idea. Just use what flavoring you like for the "White" side of it or do a vanilla and an orange.....that is a orange cream twist. oh lala.......Great recipe. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
I made this cookie for a cookie ex-change, so I made 4 batches across three days and tweaked it a little each time. Findings: 1st batch, I made it exactly as called for in the recipe. I tried to make red and white. Dough was sticky and because of the brown sugar the white was actually tan. 2nd batch – I ditched the brown sugar for white, used only egg whites. White was white this time, Green looked brighter as well. I couldn’t tell when the cookies were actually done before they turned brown on the edges and then it was too late. They didn’t look as pretty with brown edges. Batches 3 & 4 - 1. No brown sugar – use white 2. No egg yolks. 3. One batch - Green / One batch Red. Added food color before flour. 4. Refrigerated the dough before rolling it out. 5. Divide each color in to three equal balls of dough 6. Rolled out dough between pieces of wax paper. 7. Reshaped the dough while rolling so I got 8” squares. Did this by rolling out the dough in to a round shape, drawing the largest square possible on the rolled out down. Folding the rounded edges back into the dough squares and re-rolling. 8. Laid the two squares of rolled out colored dough on top of each other and rolled to make the spirals. Refrigerated as directed. (I only did 4 hours). 9. Sliced dough to ¼” thick or 5 mm. for cookies. 10. Cooked only 7 minutes.. did not rely on visual queue of doneness. Just took them out at seven minutes. Does not yield 72 - more like 48
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Fairport, New York, USA
Living In: Apex, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cookies
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2008
I used Wiltons concentrated paste for these cookies in the Halloween theme. As you can see from my pic, mine didn't turn out that well. Not as pretty as the other posted pictures. I found the dough sticky, I added some more flour as mentioned and I refrigerated it over night, but it softened quickly. The cookies seem to taste better, more buttery the next day. I love the idea of this pinwheel cookie ( especially for halloween)and the taste is pretty good. My daughter loved them and her friends from school really enjoyed them as well. THX.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookies
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
I am pinwheel cookie challenged. So I thought I could roll these like my pie crusts. After colouring the dough, (I cheated and used some kool aid to get the colors darker, though they don't show up dark in the picture) I rolled the dough out on flexible cutting boards. I could easily set the colours on top or each other to adjust size. I used a dough scraper to even off the edges and make square corners. Then I flipped the dough onto the other colour and peeled back the board, did this 2 times. I used the bottom cutting board to aid with rolling, similar to using a tea towel to roll a jelly roll. Wrapped in waxed paper and left to cool. Delicious cookies and will be fun to play with the colours according to the season. Next time I will leave the dough in the cutting board and wrap with elastic bands. This way the dough will not get a flat bottom as it cools. Thanks for the recipe Gitano-it's making the Christmas goodie list in my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DeniseY
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2008
I made these for Halloween but had trouble with the dough. I am thinking that maybe the butter wasn't soft enough. Everyone really liked them though. .. Update 2/1/09 just put the dough into the freezer so I can make the cookies sooner. Wow, what a difference from the first time I made them. I let the butter get really soft and it made all of the difference in rolling the dough. The dough was nice and soft and rolled very easy. I rolled each color on parchment paper and then put the one color on top of the other color and rolled. Very easy and I am sure will taste just as good as they did the last time I made them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DeniseY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
These are the choice of my annual Christmas cookie party. I've had alot of fun with these. They are wonderful.The dough is easy to work with and delicious. Thanks...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2008
I thought these cookies were amazing! and they're very easy to play around with and make creations/colors for any occasion!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShouldBeABlondie

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States