Christmas Pinwheel Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
I had a really hard time with the dough. It was so sticky to handle and I added more flour and refridgerated them overnight, but my batch was unsuccessful! Mine didn't look like any of the posted pics at all. The taste wasn't all that either. Not very sweet. I will NEVER make these again. A total waste of my ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cherry Blossom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
Very festive cookies! I was a little stressed while making the dough. You definitely need to have an extra pair of hands around to help move the green dough on top of the red. But it was well worth it! They weren't too sweet either which is good for my family, since we have a few with diabetes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JDena
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
This is a good recipe! They are not as time consuming as others say either. I put the dough in the freezer for an hour and that was cooled perfectly to roll out. Wrapped back up and tossed back in the freezer to chill for the slicing. It worked out well. I mixed them at 9 am and was done early in the afternoon (when kids complied of course). My family enjoyed them very much! I will do these again with other combos!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
I personally had a very difficult time with these cookies... I made the dough - put it in the fridge - took it out and rolled it - put it back in the fridge - took it out stacked on on the other and rolled it and then put it back in overnight... the dough gets very warm very quickly and I had a hard time cutting the cookies. you tend to squish the design on the cookie when you cut them. I even tried freezing the log... If you are any kind of a perfectionist - I don't think this is the right cookie for you. Taste like tea cake cookies. bakes up really light and crispy on the edges - not too sweet...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
I followed the recipe exactly and had no problems with the dough. You do need to make sure to flour your surface and rolling pin well. These cookies came out beautifully. I'll be making again next year. Oh, and they taste great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Keri
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
The flavor and texture of these cookies are so good! I really like a cookie that's not overly sweet and pretty much melts in your mouth. I had a bit of an issue with the rolling out, stacking, and making a log, but they turned out pretty nice in the end. I think it was just too warm in my house, so I couldn't get the dough chilled enough to cooperate with me. Thanks, Gitano, for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Antelope Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
I just pulled these cookies out of the oven, and tasted them. I'll comment on the taste in a moment, but I wanted to address the real issue in this recipe- the texture. Like others, my dough was crumbly, and incredibly difficult to work with. I managed to solve the problem. First, I simply chilled the dough, and that just produced harder to work with crumbly dough. Then, I added milk to the dough and combined it to make a sticky texture. While it was sticky, I rolled it out between two sheets of parchment paper, and then put the two colours together, and rolled it with the rolling pin, then into the log. I chilled it for about 6 hours, and then I was able to cut the slices. It was perfect to work with at this point. The presentation on these is great, but the recipe is lacking some more moisture. I recommend adding milk to the butter/sugar/egg comb, probably half a cup (I just eye balled it at the end) You WANT a slightly sticky dough to work with, because once it's chilled it holds it shape. I did have to bake the cookies slightly longer, about 10 minutes. Taste is OK. They are sort of bland, but with the ingredients if you're expecting a heavily flavoured cookie you're expecting too much. These cookies are more of a showpiece than a tasty treat. Next year I am going to take a tried and true sugar cookie recipe and use the same technique. I recommend you do the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
These are the choice of my annual Christmas cookie party. I've had alot of fun with these. They are wonderful.The dough is easy to work with and delicious. Thanks...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
I noticed that some people had isues rolling out the doe and placing them on top of each other after the food coloring. Well I found that if you just role out the doe onto wax paper and take the edges of the paper and place the roled out doe on top of each other than it will work. And also use the wax paper on the very bottom to roll up the doe. It save an extra day of refrigderating! and a lot less mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kris

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Prince Albert, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by nikkal
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
I adore these beautiful cookies. I had a bit of a time first time around, due to the butter I used I think. But now They are awesome. I turned em into what looks like tiny little christmas presents.I cannot wait to use Easter colors, for Easter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nikkal

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Soft Christmas Cookies

Buttery sugar cookies perfect for the holidays or any occasion.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Big Soft Ginger Cookies

Make these 5-star ginger cookies for Christmas—or any time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States