Christmas Pinwheel Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Photo by Keri
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
The flavor and texture of these cookies are so good! I really like a cookie that's not overly sweet and pretty much melts in your mouth. I had a bit of an issue with the rolling out, stacking, and making a log, but they turned out pretty nice in the end. I think it was just too warm in my house, so I couldn't get the dough chilled enough to cooperate with me. Thanks, Gitano, for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Antelope Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
I just pulled these cookies out of the oven, and tasted them. I'll comment on the taste in a moment, but I wanted to address the real issue in this recipe- the texture. Like others, my dough was crumbly, and incredibly difficult to work with. I managed to solve the problem. First, I simply chilled the dough, and that just produced harder to work with crumbly dough. Then, I added milk to the dough and combined it to make a sticky texture. While it was sticky, I rolled it out between two sheets of parchment paper, and then put the two colours together, and rolled it with the rolling pin, then into the log. I chilled it for about 6 hours, and then I was able to cut the slices. It was perfect to work with at this point. The presentation on these is great, but the recipe is lacking some more moisture. I recommend adding milk to the butter/sugar/egg comb, probably half a cup (I just eye balled it at the end) You WANT a slightly sticky dough to work with, because once it's chilled it holds it shape. I did have to bake the cookies slightly longer, about 10 minutes. Taste is OK. They are sort of bland, but with the ingredients if you're expecting a heavily flavoured cookie you're expecting too much. These cookies are more of a showpiece than a tasty treat. Next year I am going to take a tried and true sugar cookie recipe and use the same technique. I recommend you do the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
These are the choice of my annual Christmas cookie party. I've had alot of fun with these. They are wonderful.The dough is easy to work with and delicious. Thanks...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
I noticed that some people had isues rolling out the doe and placing them on top of each other after the food coloring. Well I found that if you just role out the doe onto wax paper and take the edges of the paper and place the roled out doe on top of each other than it will work. And also use the wax paper on the very bottom to roll up the doe. It save an extra day of refrigderating! and a lot less mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kris

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Prince Albert, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by nikkal
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
I adore these beautiful cookies. I had a bit of a time first time around, due to the butter I used I think. But now They are awesome. I turned em into what looks like tiny little christmas presents.I cannot wait to use Easter colors, for Easter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nikkal

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
I like to mess with the flavors according to the time of the year. During Christmas I like to do a Chocolate and Peppermint mix. Valentine's Day I like to do a Chocolate and Strawberry. You get the idea. Just use what flavoring you like for the "White" side of it or do a vanilla and an orange.....that is a orange cream twist. oh lala.......Great recipe. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DeniseY
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2008
I made these for Halloween but had trouble with the dough. I am thinking that maybe the butter wasn't soft enough. Everyone really liked them though. .. Update 2/1/09 just put the dough into the freezer so I can make the cookies sooner. Wow, what a difference from the first time I made them. I let the butter get really soft and it made all of the difference in rolling the dough. The dough was nice and soft and rolled very easy. I rolled each color on parchment paper and then put the one color on top of the other color and rolled. Very easy and I am sure will taste just as good as they did the last time I made them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DeniseY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2008
I made this the other day and it didn't turn out the way I wanted :( I followed the recipe exactly, but in the end my dough ended up very crumbly and ended up cutting them into shapes instead.. I don't know where I went wrong x.x" Will try making it again next time, maybe...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
did not like this at all. the dough was to crumbly and did not stick together well. didn't taste that good either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Photo by Cookies
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2008
I used Wiltons concentrated paste for these cookies in the Halloween theme. As you can see from my pic, mine didn't turn out that well. Not as pretty as the other posted pictures. I found the dough sticky, I added some more flour as mentioned and I refrigerated it over night, but it softened quickly. The cookies seem to taste better, more buttery the next day. I love the idea of this pinwheel cookie ( especially for halloween)and the taste is pretty good. My daughter loved them and her friends from school really enjoyed them as well. THX.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookies
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States